You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gratitude and Positivity - A "Boat's" Perspective

in #gratitude6 years ago

... there is no separation between 'I' and the Universe.

This is my belief too. I've really felt it only a few times and each time was life-changing and life-affirming. I get glimpses though, and those are enough that I don't lose sight completely.

Your dual nationality is interesting. It can be challenging enough trying to feel like one fits in, however having the experiences we've had and being the age that we are shows us that that youthful turmoil, though necessary, really didn't mean that much at all. Or did it?

I wonder how we'll see our mid 40s if we reach our 80s. I wonder if the curve gets more mellow?

Sort:  

youthful turmoil, though necessary, really didn't mean that much at all. Or did it?

For me it was turmoil when I was in it, and until I understood its place and its function in my life. It fits perfectly and I wouldn't be whatever I am today without having gone through it. Here again, it is the significance of every thing that happens/happened (if not b+w meaning) that allows the pieces to slot together. If I were to remove pain and trauma from my life experience, I would be many pegs shorter IMO, and probably sleep-walking and dancing to everyone else's tunes, however discordant :D

I wonder how we'll see our mid 40s if we reach our 80s. I wonder if the curve gets more mellow?

Interesting! I think it is to do with perception and also what is currently going on. Everything is linked, remnants from any age (emotional residue) may resurface at any time if they have not been dealt with. I feel the curve has mellowed already - I am not frantically grasping at straws the way I was in my 20s. It was necessary then, as I was figuring things out. I've not figured them out now, but I'm not scraping about for the basic building blocks of life any more, I'm looking to work with what is there already. I did however, have to go through a period of time (early-mid 40s, pretty recent) where I consciously re-lived, re-experienced and then released a lot of the emotional pain and trauma from my first 20+ years!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61674.06
ETH 3067.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81