Energy Efficient Cluster

in #gridcoin5 years ago

Hi All,

It has been quite a bit of time since my last posts. Renovating an apartment and moving has taken up much of my free time. Now that I have settled, I have returned to one of my hobbies: distributed computing.

In this older post, I talked a bit about one of my recent acquisitions, The Beast. With 40 logical cores, it was great for ripping trough work units. However, the rig pulled almost 600 watts of power. Given my current financial situation, I couldn't really justify the electrical costs. So, I turned my attention to a new direction.

Almost a year ago, I purchased some new SBCs and I decided to get 3 more NanoPi Fire 3s. While there is no fair comparison of processing power, this setup is much more energy efficient than The Beast. So, as illustrated below, the setup includes 4 Nano Pi Fire 3s, 1 NanoPC-T3 Plus and 1 Odroid XU-4. That's right: 48 cores of processing power!

I am powering the setup with two USB charging packs from a power bar with a energy meter. Also, being powered in the setup is a nano router, switch and small fan. All in all, a fair bit of processing power for about 46 watts, or about 1 kWh per day (in my area about $0.20 Canadian).

As you can see, it is doing fairly well crunching work units for World Community Grid, although I have noticed a significant drop-off in processing since the Smash Childhood Cancer stream has temporarily suspended the supply of work units. However, I managed to sneak in a 20-Year badge! Processing is a bit slower with the Zika stream, which is the only other stream that can be processed on ARM (I stand to be corrected here).

Happy crunching!

Sort:  

You have Efficiency in the title of the article. But I do not see any efficiency figures. What are the GFLOPS per Watt? How does it compare in efficiency to your Beast machine?

Hello @agentjuno! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

This is a cool set-up and with 48 cores at 46 Watt certainly effecient for hunting badges. My dual processor rackserver draws 180 Watt for 40 threads (20 ivy bridge cores x 1.9 Ghz = 38 Ghz total). How many WCG points does your rig generate per day?

Congratulations @agentjuno! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75