More SBCs On Their Way - BOINC

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hello All,

I really liked the work done by @jimbo88 on his post here. I actully did a follow-up post to it a while ago where I compared the Odroid XU4 to the Raspberry Pi 3. Since then, I have been scouring the web for efficient Single Board Computers (SBC) that could crunch BOINC work units.

Up until the new year, I was running Linux on both the XU4 and RPi3. I was crunching work units for Universe@Home and DrugDiscovery@home. I chose these two projects as they had ARM work units available and I was not competing against GPUs. The purpose of this approach was to maximize magnitude. Since the new year, ARM work units (or any work units for that matter) have been scarce or otherwise unavailable. As a result, I moved over to an Android operating system for my XU4, went back to my roots and started crunching work units for the World Community Grid. For whatever reason, I cannot get Android to work well on my RPi3. If anyone has a good guide for this, please feel free to share in the comments.

So, as you can see above, one of the items that I was looking for was an SBC that could easily run Android, especially with an image supported by the manufacturer. This is where my travels led me to FriendlyElec / FriendlyARM. They produce the Nano series of SBCs, specifically the NanoPi and NanoPC. @jimbo88's post had a few FriendlyARM devices on it, but since then, some new boards have been released.

I recently ordered a NanoPC-T3 Plus and a NanoPi Fire3. Both of these SBCs sport a Samsung S5P6818 64-Bit Octa-Core chip which runs at 1.4 GHz. Other than the obvious differences in physical size and price, the other key differences (that were of concern to me) are that the NanoPC has 1 more GB of RAM on board as well as built-in Wi-Fi. However, the NanoPC is rated at 15 Watts to the NanoPi's 10 Watts. To their credit though, they both run off of a MicroUSB connection and not a custom adapter like the XU4. In the XU4's defense, it does have a faster processor with 4 of its 8 cores running a 2 GHz.

According to FriendlyElec's website, these two boards will do triple the hash rate of a RPi3. This is quite interesting as the NanoPi Fire3 is pretty much the same price as a RPi3.

Unless the performance increase of having the extra 1 GB of RAM is that much better, my gut feeling is that the NanoPi Fire3 presents a much better value at $35 USD. Once I actually receive them from China, I'll prepare a follow-up post for your reading pleasure!

Cheers!

NanoPC T3-Plus (image courtesy of FriendlyElec)

Nano Pi Fire 3 (image courtesy of FriendlyElec)

Sort:  

Good luck with the new boards! I bought most of my SBCs one year ago, but so many more have been released since then. It's hard to keep up.

I'm looking forward to your follow up post. If you have issues running Android, TN-Grid supports Linux on ARM while avoiding GPU competition. It might even offer more magnitude than Universe@Home right now.

I've moved all of my x86 machines to WCG, but have held off on the SBCs because I didn't want to mess around with Android. I tried to install Android once on one of my devices, and I ran into problems and gave up :-)

Thanks @jimbo, I put TN Grid on my RPi3. Not many units available though. I redirected my 40-thread server to WCG a few days ago.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I do not see why Android WUs should not run on plain Linux too. You should experiment a bit with anonymous platform.

I get this:

you can compile boinc from source and there are options , I ran into a similar issue as I run Linux on a Mac G5 tower. Unfortunately the boinc client from a package or source with no changes I would get a similar error. After a bit of google searches I figured hay its a mips cpu lets just try the --with-boinc-platform=ps3 https://boinc.berkeley.edu/trac/wiki/BuildSystem is where I started an had to use --with-boinc-platform=NAME and there are other options. Then my machine was pulling WU from yoyo@home and identified as a ps3 running gnu Linux. So my thinking is compile from source and look at all the flags , if you did compile from source that right there is the issue because it could not identify the platform and there are more than listed on the boinc build page and you can even use --help when you compile to get a list of all of your choices for CPU and Linux.
ON another note , I have not gotten 1 android work unit on my 2 phones and 2 tablets in 3 months and since there are not many android projects to choose from I am stuck running seti@home beta and has given me 0 motivation to do a little soldering on this 8 core phone to direct power just to boinc something not whitelisted..

Bah, missed the last part of your statement. I will look into. So far, TN-Grid is giving me a stable stream of WUs for the RPi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64290.64
ETH 3155.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86