Using GRC to BOINC More - Update

in #gridcoin6 years ago

Hi All,

This is a follow-up to my post on how I was able to crystallize some gains in my investment in GRC which allowed me to get some more computing power.

While I have been hesitating on my purchase of the used server (spousal permission still outstanding), I did pull the trigger on getting an Odroid Xu4. For those of you who are not familiar with Odroids, they are Single Board Computers similar to a Raspberry Pi.

With a bit of tinkering, I was able to get the Odroid to run BOINC and it has been crunching for the past day or so. I followed parts of @thorondor's great guide to installing BOINC on the Odroid. While I opted for the full version of Ubuntu Mate (I love GUIs), certain of the guide's code was very handy. For whatever reason, my initial install of the BOINC Manager would crash any time I added the GRCPool. When I did all this from the command line, it all worked out.

Thanks @thorondor!

Now this Odroid has a fair bit more computing power than a Raspberry Pi 3, but can consumer a bit more electricity. Like @thorondor, I am having some heat issues with the Odroid and have a new fan on the way. In the meantime, the Odroid is still outperforming the Raspberry Pi 3 when crunching Universe@Home units.

RPi:

XU4

I will soon see if I can get some backing for that used server I have had my eye on... (wish me luck)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87