You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story

in #gridcoin6 years ago

We really, REALLY, need more public exposure like this, not just for GRC but to paint the whole cryptomarket in a better light.

As a BOINCer I am a bit biassed, but so much wonderful stuff could be done with all that processing power and electricity. I hope the current situation the world has gotten itself into will push people to think more of general well being then just amassing wealth, but my hopes are low... With every passing day, with every new reality show, with every new Trump statement we just seem to lower what our expectations are of us and other human beings. So we need more positive projects like this, and try and market them more, not just online, but in person to all our friends.

Sort:  

Absolutely - I think the temptation is to underestimate how many folks would love to get involved in something positive and rewarding like this. I've spoken about it in person with friends who I thought would have no interest, only for them to get even more sucked in than I am :). Next step - convincing my parents to get involved...

Ha ha, my Mum is 78 years old but she is quite tech savvy for her age and uses her computer every day, when her old computer broke I gave her my i7-3700k (excuse to upgrade!) and asked if when she was using it she would like to run BOINC; when I explained she could contribute to projects like WCG she was very happy so long as I managed it for her.

First step is to get Mum onto Steemit I think... This is probably more her bag - she's into all kinds of creative endeavours and would love the opportunity to share her work with a wider audience. I'm sure she'd be readily convinced to donate her computing power, too - provided, as is your case, I manage it for her :)

Yeah sounds like a no brainer, just help her keep her keys safe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66435.81
ETH 3451.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.08