You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Morning Gridcoin - Bloomberg Tech' Mention & My GRC Origin Story

in #gridcoin6 years ago

I'm a middle class worker bee that's has gaming and sporting to stay in shape as a hobby.
Not very much more can be said hah.

The time for gaming has been placed on the backburner because of the time constraints and responsabilities adulthood and having a wonderful wife and kids bring. Time that can be more used for the boinc program.

I have been boincing since 2006, when I scoured the net how to bring a personal contribution against cancer without having to study for a doctorate in oncology.. or astrophysics 😊.

For hardware nothing fancy like server racks etc;
just a i7 laptop and a lot of handicapped phones I got from family that I use for boincing, I like the idea repurposing valuable but worn things like phones instead of just throwing something away.

Sort:  

Ahh I know what you meant about the responsibilities of adulthood - my gaming time has mostly been replaced with DIY time / BOINC time too :). I'd love to find ways to further gamify the BOINC / Gridcoin experience - if only I had the coding skills to do it!

Good to see someone that's been BOINCing for so long here :) how did you find out about Gridcoin if you don't mind me asking?

Handicapped phones are great - they may not contribute the most computing power, but like you say - at least they aren't being thrown away! I have all manner of 'junk' laptops and phones here - damaged screens, network blocked, missing batteries.. if I can get them powered on and functional enough, then you can be sure I'll get them crunching! :)

I'd love to find ways to further gamify the BOINC / Gridcoin experience - if only I had the coding skills to do it!

Me too man, I wish I studied something in IT since i'm fiddling with computers half of the time.. 😄
You did some very good looking art on GRC though. By the way: I hope you didn't mind I used some of your artwork for my gridcoin scribblings on steemit here.

Good to see someone that's been BOINCing for so long here :) how did you find out about Gridcoin if you don't mind me asking?

Running boinc wasn't a constant thing but last summer it was that time again to install Boinc, when I traded my desktop for a laptop, I stumbled on gridcoin when I was reading up on news for boinc on google. And I found Steemit through Gridcoin there after and traded some author rewards for a bit gridcoin.

I got a lot of unresponsive broken glass phones, they can be accessed with a mouse if you have a usb to micro usb adapter. They're weirdly hard to come by though but exist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66246.60
ETH 3449.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01