Some (Very) Minor Updates to GRCGosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

For anybody out there using my quick little GRC Go Gridcoin price reference site, a few minor updates:

  • I've removed C-CEX from the GRC price average. I'm willing to explore adding other price sources if APIs are available - let me know in the comments. C-CEX has had abysmally low volume for the last few months and seems to be generally on its way out. If this changes, I'll add it again at a later time.
  • The page title now contains the USD and BTC prices for quick reference if you don't feel like tabbing over. (You will need to refresh the page to get updated javascript for this.)
  • I managed to get my full node up and running again in order to provide proper coin supply and market cap information. Hopefully it stays stable now.

In the next few weeks, I'll be looking into the possibility of adding realtime data and keeping a proper chart history rather than forcing people to wait while their browser caches the last ~30 minutes of data in order to have a proper chart.

Any other suggestions while I'm at it?:)

Sort:  

Great work! Thanks for this great service you offer to the Gridcoin Community :)

@nateonthenet nice work!

These are all the things you mentioned last week. GRCGo hasn't been updated in a long while (not that it's really needed it) but it's great to see it actively improved, as it is with all things Gridcoin.

I was wondering if caching the data would help your server load, because currently people are incentivized into keeping the tab open for longer periods if they want that graph.

By the way, I'm seeing the prices at 0 in Chrome.

I tried emptying my cache, but no luck. I figure it will self resolve. I just wanted to let you know. Overall looking great!

Can you tell me what browser and OS you're using? I only really tested on Windows 10 with Chrome and on my Android device so it's entirely possible that it doesn't work on other combinations. I can look into it.:)

Edit: just saw Chrome there... What version and OS? :)

Windows 7 and Chrome 63 here. I know how it is testing. No matter how much a developer tests their own code, as soon as they release it someone will find something broken. I'm plagued by it too.

Still looks to be doing the same thing in Chrome, so I guess no self-resolution this time. I just checked in Firefox (57) and I see the price in satoshis populated, but not USD.

If you open the Chrome inspector and go to the console, are there any JS errors? Thanks for being patient with me on the questions here.:)

Haha don't worry man, I'm more than happy to help!

Unfortunately no console errors. Always the best when there's no clues.

Can you let me know what code is supposed to be handling the page title price update? I assume it's some Javascript? I'd be happy to see if I can identify the problem, or at least shine some more light on it.

Currently a balance of 59413 GRC is required to stake roughly once per week.

Above statement is incorrect. I have much lower balance and stake almost daily.

I'm using worst-case math assuming all coins are staking, which is never the case, but is a good target if you want to be sure.

You can do the math yourself.:) Per https://www.gridcoin.us/Guides/acquire-grc.htm :

CoinsRequired= (1 / (days * 960)) * NetworkCoinSupply

Congratulations @nateonthenet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nateonthenet! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nateonthenet! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67