BOINC progress and how to fix error 1325 when upgrading BOINC manager

in #gridcoin6 years ago

GridcoinBlocks_Header_Transparent.png

source

It's been an eventful few days for my BOINC experiment for a number of reasons. I finally have the definite reason for my BOINC client and manager's issues over the past few months. I also managed to wipe all my progress so far and figured out how to solve error 1325 when upgrading BOINC manager. These three are all related and I hope to save a fellow BOINCer the same headache in case they come across the same issues.

As I documented here, I had endless trouble getting my BOINC manager to talk to the client after moving stuff around my different hard drives. The main reason for having to move stuff is because my anti-virus decided to use my C: system drive to make copies of EVERYTHING it felt like to the tune of 50GB of wasted space. This motivated me to move everything I could to other drives to free up space (including my BOINC folder). As a result of this I couldn't get my BOINC client to run without manually starting it after every boot and it wouldn't let me upgrade BOINC manager either. After Google-ing a bit and posting my issue on the BOINC message boards I found the solution thanks to the very kind moderators at https://boinc.berkeley.edu. Due to my moving around of the install folder my registry was mixed up and didn't know where stuff was:

Reg.jpg

Where it says DATADIR and INSTALLDIR with a C: path there was all sorts of weird stuff. The one was on P: drive and the other on E: and considering I didn't even have a P: drive anymore it becomes clear why the poor program didn't know what to do. So, if you're getting error 1325 when trying to upgrade your BOINC manager you need to run REGEDIT and go check that DATADIR and INSTALLDIR are pointing to where your BOINC folder actually is.

This brings me to why I wiped all my progress and reset my MAG and RAC to zero again. See, I only figured the REGEDIT step out AFTER I got fed up and wiped my entire BOINC installation and wasted half an hour trying to install the latest version from a fresh download. Needless to say it didn't work because my registry entries were still screwed up... My RAC and MAG graphs now look like this:
RAC1.jpgMAG1.jpg

Pretty obvious something went sideways, huh?

What you can also see is that my 6GB 1060 is absolutely killing it with Asteroids@Home and has an RAC ten times and a mag three times what my CPUs have delivered. I'm very excited to see where this will peak.

That said, I haven't been getting much GPU tasks for Asteroids today. Has anybody else had the same experience? I don't really want to dilute the experiment by bringing in another GPU project but I can't exactly just have this beast idling.

As always, your thoughts and suggestions are highly appreciated. Keep on BOINCing!

signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68