You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Gridcoin Whitelisting Must Go

in #gridcoin6 years ago (edited)

I think there should be opportunity for Gridcoin crunchers to vote with their feet and crunch any type of project they like, commercial or otherwise.

That is partly why I created the Gridcoin Rain in Python so that rain isnt limited to whitelisted projects as it is in the main client. Anyone can create a BOINC project, publish project/team stats in an XML, and they (or anyone else for that matter) could rain GRC to the crunchers, with that tool (use caution, Im not a pro developer!).

So then the Whitelist can remain political, and driven by altruism and self interests, as anyone can bypass it and reward BOINC crunchers with GRC in exchange for compute.

Sort:  

I like the way you think.:)

I think the main client should actually encourage this. It's my money, so why shouldn't I be allowed to rain it on whomever I like?:)

Thanks the pain is keeping the project xml feeds updated, I guess I should add an 'other' option so the user could just add their own URL, that would be easy.

The users must still be in team Gridcoin for it to work though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69471.12
ETH 3758.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83