Love in the Kitchen

in #grocery6 years ago

We argued on the way to the grocery store today. My exhaustion made me a bit more sensitive...and it led to me walking into the store by myself and him staying in the car.

As I pushed my cart through the produce section, I thought, “ugh. I am the worst sometimes.”

Do you ever just feel so at odds with someone you love and not know what to do next?

Same.

But when we got home, we began to cook dinner together, like we normally do. We probably cook together 3 or 4 times a week. He’s definitely better at it. But teamwork is more fun.

And as I pulled asparagus out of the fridge I said, “you know, I’m glad we cook together, especially on days we don’t see eye to eye. There’s something simple and unifying about it.”

And he hugged me and agreed.

Then, a bit later, we embraced each other and danced in a circle for a moment. Without any music...but there was a harmony, that’s for sure.

You know, pursuing unity and wholeness in your marriage doesn’t have to be complicated. I mean, the situation may be complicated.

But I’m learning the unifying beauty of something as simple and ordinary as teamwork in the kitchen.

Do the simple things. Welcome team work before you resolve every single thing. The enemy will try to get you to feel like opponents. Don’t buy it.

YOU ARE ON THE SAME TEAM.

And sometimes, if you lay down your pride just long enough, you’ll get a glimpse of the redeeming glory that shines when you choose to work together instead of work against each other.

And maybe, if you’re lucky, you’ll end up dancing around the kitchen, too. ♥️ #SoulScripts

Instagram.com/jordanleedooley

pc: Lindsey Noel Photography

Sort:  

Congratulations @shegxygott! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84