You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Growth Idea - How to Add Extra Utlity to SMTs

in #growth-ideas7 years ago

I think you lost me on this one. Won’t that bring more scammers posing as advertisers of something of value. I mean even if they have to pay something they still do it. Would it also mean that if we wanted to visit that specific community we would have to pay? Sorry just a little lost on this one.

Sort:  

How is that different from any blogpost already on steemit? If someone has enough SP, they can self promote their post at the top of any trending/hot page. Also, how is it different from reddit, facebook, pinterest or any other social media? Anybody can be scammer, advertising doesn't create an incentive for scamming other.

Sorry I think I mis-communicated my questions. I get the advertisers paying to advertise part and I know there will be scammers as with anything. I was just trying to see if there was a way to discourage them even if they had to pay to advertise. Also second question that I should have separated was, are we as regular users going to have to pay to view those communities? Sorry it makes more sense in my head than when I am asking. Let’s see if I can make an example make sense. Let’s say there was a community of musicians and I wanted to go check out their work, would that require a payment of some kind to enter that community with or without the advertisers. I hope that makes sense.

Don't worry. The best parallel I can draw to understand communities would be sub-reddits. Some you may have the request permission to post on some while other are completely open. I wouldn't be surprise to have private communities popping up too. But by default, I believe people will have their communities open as it is the best way to get engagement.

The advertising would work exactly like in the screenshot I took of the webdev subreddit.

I personally don't see the causal link between scammers and advertising opportunities, so I can't really comment on how to discourage those behavior.

Ok thank you for explaining further. That makes sense.

Please don’t get me wrong. I think it is a great idea for adding utilities for the growth of it. Just trying to understand the bottom line. Still new here and I won’t know if I don’t ask. Thanks for taking the time to explain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94