Steemit.com Now Top 1000 on Alexa and Ben Swann Is Now On D.Tube...

in #growth6 years ago (edited)

ben-swann.jpg

2 years ago, I would have never guessed that I would be writing about steemit.com being a top 1000 websites on Alexa. It is absolutely astounding that we got to this point so quickly, with a website that is not yet brought to it's full potential.

But I'm glad, the guys at steemit have dedicated so much of their energy on improving the performance of the website AND the blockchain as @ned mentioned on his latest post on @steemitblog. Without that, we would be toasted and we wouldn't have this conversation.

You see, it's not only steemit.com that need to run on this blockchain but also other serious projects. Here is what 's happening in term of popularity of the steem blockchain:


Steemit.com - The Main Hub

screenshot-www.alexa.com-2018.02.22-05-21-24.jpeg


D.tube - Decentralized and Uncensorable Video Platform

screenshot-www.alexa.com-2018.02.22-05-21-46.jpeg


Busy.org - Alternative to Steemit.com

screenshot-www.alexa.com-2018.02.22-05-22-37.jpeg


Utopian.io - Incentivized Open-Source Contributions

screenshot-www.alexa.com-2018.02.22-05-23-07.jpeg


...and many others.

What does this mean?

Right now, we are hitting the hyperbolic curve. Even though Alexa is not a perfect metric to know the amount of traffic that a website has, it is quite useful as a comparative tool. Climbing from to the top 1000 to the top 500 is much harder than from the top 5000 to the top 1000.

The most powerful tool I've found to see how the STEEM blockchain grows internally is this one https://tool.steem.world/Post/Stat

There you will see that the active userbase is climbing steadily. We are a far cry from what reddit(Alexa 7) or medium.com(Alexa 285) does it term of output and traffic but give us a couple more years and I wouldn't be surprised by steemit.com and others to be in the top 100.

Other News - The Real Ben Swann Is On D.Tube

I don't know for you but one of my favorite investigative journalist is Ben Swann and his Truth in Media project. He went dark after his famous Reality Check on the Pizza Gate controversy. A full year without a single news from him. Lots of people were worried but now he is back and fully independent from the mainstream media. Check out his website: http://truthinmedia.com/

His Come-Back with Dash

Reaching Out to Him

So now that I knew that he was aware of cryptocurrencies, I reached out to him via Facebook Messenger and told him that I could find him support via the Steem Blockchain.

I wasn't sure @benswann account on Steemit was his real account. After checking with him that it was his real account, I was sad that when he posted in the past he wasn't noticed. So I told him that I would get him support if he started uploading on D.Tube.

And that is how, https://steemit.com/benswann/@benswann/2snaen3c was posted on D.Tube 2 days ago. I'm still in discussion with him to see how Steem can help his project of bringing Truth in Media to the moon and we will see where it goes from here...but it is a good start.

Conclusion

It's easier to incentivize your favourite content creators to join steemit.com or D.tube when you have enough Steem Power to make it worth their while OR know people who have enough SP. Please consider adding @benswann to your auto-vote on steemauto.com, that way, we can bring more Truth in Media.

Sort:  

First they don’t believe this site until they start for themselves and see the wonders it brings . When I first joined I thought , how can someone pay me for my thoughts and ideas ? I was wrong . I started to tell others and they laughed at me and now I’m sitting with an account balance of 23K . We still need to get more awareness out , those in poor countries that have access to internet can join and change their life forever like I changed mine .

Yes it is sure the more steemit becomes known to people more popularity it gains because it self-employs everyone. I think this year of 2018 this steemit will gain more than million users.it is really cool here ,you post about what you like and people with same interest keep in touch with you ....a persons gets a lot of knowledge..
Yup sure i will add up @benswann in steemauto ...i already registered there....

I think focus on unique and qualitative content will push steemit on higher level and attract more people even those whos not here for economic gain.

Really i feel proud with steemit as a steemians . To remove poverty this website will touch milestone soon.

Yeah that's right! Actually I am new in this community and it does a lot of good things for us all steemians it really helps big time not just financially but also making & meeting new friends too from all parts of the world.

I think this year of 2018 this steemit will gain more than million users

For sure! We are already at over 700,000, so it's not even that far away anymore ;)

Man I never even heard of Ben Swann before this video, probably because when I was getting really into cryptocurrencies he had already gone dark. But this was an awesome video from him and I need to follow his work now!! I loved how he kept things so short and simple. Most cryptocurrency related videos that are decent enough are like 20-30 minutes long and you don't always have the time to watch them. But Ben looks just like the guy we need on a busy schedule!!

This is awesome I love that new popular Youtubers coming on the platform are getting such great support. I'm worried though that this will overshadow talented people already on the platform that have been here and helping build the community on this platform.

@cryptoctopus,
Yeah it's harder to climb 1000 to 500 in Alexa than 5000 to 1000! But STEEMIT doing it's best and it will probably at the top 100 soon! I didn't know about Ben Swann before! I hope to be a follower of his posts as well!
Thank you for sharing this useful update too!

Cheers~

Back in the US? i hope you had a good flight. Yes we must be happy steemit can scale with the amount of users we have now. I think we will double again in 2018 if the right marketing takes place.. Looking forward to the projects people submitted to you..

Excellent news, my friend, that the Steemit.com is increasingly rising in the rally among the many sites and I very much hope that this way to the top will continue even more rapidly! I am also glad to hear from you about such a person as the @benswann and I am confident that his content on the Steemit and D.tube will provide very substantial support to the Steem Blockchain , so I welcome the @benswann and wish him luck! Thank you @cryptoctopus

@benswann is on steemit?? Sorry for the short comment, I'm out of this post now and following there!

It always sounds good when I read about the progress of this platform, it will definitely come under 100, 50s and finally in the top 10 if we all continue to add valuable content to this platform! Infact, there are many topics which the Google shows Steemit results only and that's great!

Remember that steemit is still the only competitor in blockchain social platform. I Will only put ALL my faith in Steemit when we see what Will be its state when the competition start to appear.

Also, good job on bringing more quality people to Join the platform.

The biggest threat is likely to come from the EOS competitor, but STEEM does have a significant first mover advantage. I think the next 6 months will be critical for STEEM to grow and improve before that competitor is launched.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87