You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Compare Your Steemit Wallet With Others - Create! The Open Books Issue And Why Healthy Businesses Are Rarely Fair

in #growth7 years ago

One of the tricks that I've been using to promote Steem is trying to answer coworkers questions about ... just about anything ... by providing a link to a corresponding steemit post.

This usually leads to a reply email asking if the link I sent is "safe" to click. I'll ckeekily reply that it may suck up their time. The next day, there is usually a conversation in the hall about what cryptocurrency is and how it works... That leads to more sharing of steemit links - then the cycle continues.

At some point, they ask about the wallets - I show them that the transactions are all transparent, which leads to a conversation similar to this article.

Many times, we have talked about how awesome it would be if all charities had transparent records, including the salaries of the officers of the charities. Then the discussion swings to "Do they deserve the salaries they get". Which circles back to this post.

So now, I have a new post to add to my arsenal when the conversation swings to "Do they deserve the compensation they receive?"

Sort:  

I might 'steel' your strategy.

People are very reluctant to crypto currencies here. It's hard to win them over.

I find that to be highly amusing, @fechaugger, since fiat currencies should actually be cryptocurrencies. They are created out of thin air, have nothing to back them up, except belief in them. The only difference is that they can be stolen via taxes or by the banks.

That's a good idea, using Steemit like Google to answer questions while introducing people to the platform. I like it. I have been answering new Steemit users questions the same way to get them in the habit of finding the answers to their Steemit related questions. Basically how I learned to use Steemit. But I had not thought of using it with people who are not on the platform. I think I'll give that a try too. Thanks for the idea.

I love your strategy! That's a really good idea to get people involved.
Full upvote of your comment (I would have resteemed it as well :-)).

I consider that an amazing compliment.

Thanks.

I think the main issue is not equality at all. People get frustrated when they see content of obviously low quality upvoted at very high figures. And after multiple tries of creating quality posts that require time and effort they loose incentive. Which is natural. Only the most stubborn ones can cope with that and continue posting quality posts but these numbers are so low that they do not help the platform to grow itself. It is simple.

It requires patience and consistency to make it to the top of any business.
People need to understand that money is not given for free on steemit, it has to be earned. As in any other competitive field, the ones that are willing to work will make it.

People get frustrated when they see content of obviously low quality upvoted at very high figures.

Do you have an example of such a piece of content?

Oh, you do not need to tell this to me :) I know it all too well :)

We are talking about scaling issues of the platform to go it mainstream. Not what people "need to understand" as they never will :)

And i know it too well than to share content of a whale saying it's shitty. I was not born yesterday and i am not an advocate of fairness in place where i have no say at all :)

I just wanted to point out, after reading your article where you said that people want equality. And i am saying that this is not the inequality that irritates them the most, not that somebody earns more or less. But when they see obviously effortless scrabbled worthless stuff trending over and over again with hundreds of dollars in earnings.

I am bringing this just for a discussion. My reason on Steemit is not earnings. I am earning other places, i'm here for a discussion, learning and observation of this amazing social experiment that would cost me tens of thousand of dollars to carry out by myself.

And i always appreciate differences in opinions, i find it fascinating from a psychological standpoint how people manage to believe and defend completely opposite beliefs with such an effort and even acting irrationally and putting themselves in a harms way. In sake of what? :)))

We are talking about scaling issues of the platform to go it mainstream. Not what people "need to understand" as they never will :)

Well I wasn't talking about scaling issues. Also scalability is a completely different issue that is in hands of the platform's developers. Not sure if you followed the fireside chat with Ned Scott during Steemfest. He explained very well which are the main challenges with regards to onboarding.

You say that you don't share people's position who compare themselves with highly paid content, but then you write:

But when they see obviously effortless scrabbled worthless stuff trending over and over again with hundreds of dollars in earnings.

LOL! This is exactly why I wrote my article. Effortless and worthless? Who says that? How could you know that it was effortless? Were you sitting close to the authors when they prepared their articles? Do you even know that 90% of the users that are constantly trending have built applications and other projects on the blockchain?

Statements like these are exactly the reason why I wrote this article.

Again, I wasn't talking about scalabitily since this is something we actually don't have any influence in. I was talking about mindset and perspective.

Yes, it's fascinating in many different ways.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71206.07
ETH 3811.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.47