For the love of art!

Self expression is the most obvious way anyone is able to feel free. It took me a long time to discover that one of the ways I get to express myself best is through oil painting. It is soothing and I find the brush strokes to be highly therapeutic.

Today I paint over a canvas that I used as a photo collage for my 21st birthday. I held onto it for so long not really knowing what to do with it. I don't recognize myself in any of those photos. That girl was the result of false beliefs and conditioning from society. A girl who lived up to everyone's expectations but her own. So today I paint a canvas and portray something meaningful in my life knowing that I am no longer that lost girl that spent 28 years finding her purpose, instead I am a free artist, a healer, a nature loving explorer, a vegan and someone who accepts people with love and kindness. I don't always get this right but I am aware of it now and alter my learned behaviour patterns when I do slip up.

Dare to dream, dare to be the you that you want to be, dare to paint

Sort:  

It is an empowering sensation to feel free. Like you I love to paint and it awesome when I allow myself to let go.

Congratulations @warriorwoman88! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

We have a couple of other enthusiastic painters in Adelaide. @stuffing and @wildflowerjessi.
Both lovely :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62414.94
ETH 3019.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58