You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing steem.guide!

in #guide6 years ago

Hi @jerrybanfield A very informative post. I have worked through a few of the sections and will continue these. One question that comes to my mind is the role of photography in steemit. It seems to me that photography on its own does not attract much interest. Could you comment on what you think might be a way forward? How do you make photography more prevalent? Or do photographers have to become blog writers?

Sort:  

Tom in terms of immediate rewards you are right that photography has relatively low amounts for most compared to full blog posts. What works really well on Steem is tagging images and ranking in Google search which might mean photographers can best hope to just post for the organic traffic from Google and build readers this way which could lead to additional opportunities such as being hired to do a session, providing stock photos, etc. in addition to Steem rewards!

Thanks Jerry. I believe that the whole photography "market" is really saturated now with the ubiquity of digital and cheap equipment. I also place photos with stock agencies and the returns from that route are minimal. I guess there are just too many "free" sources. Personally I am not interested in going into the assignment route. Actually, I have done OK on steemit and made a few dollars (more than I have on stock sites). As you say, the better option might be to move into longer blog posts. I just need to rearrange my thought process. Thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88