You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Repost & Reminder: The Rise and Fall of Digg.com, a lesson for Steemit

in #guilds7 years ago (edited)

I watched digg grow and eventually fail, it was one of my husband's favorite sites. My husband sees similar patterns developing here on Steemit. I have no answers, but I don't like flagging, bots, and guilds, but can't say why with anything that makes sense. Maybe it's because these tools are easy to game? The best social sites I've help manage had community or topic managers that worked as a team to help members resolve disruptive behavior and technical issues. The best site I worked on had clearly defined rules regarding trolling and spamming, the 3 strikes you're out worked well too.

Sort:  

Community leaders could be a solution... But many could also see it as a problem.. For instance I would love to see some leadership and community efforts from the developers of the platform, but it seems they are determined to use algorithms to keep the community in line rather than inspire us to work together to help them achieve their goals. I see a lot of value in what they are building but something also needs to be done to keep us all on the same page. Lack of communication is getting us all tangled up in our own notions of what the developers should do. If we were more in tune with their thoughts and direction and updated more regularly then we have something we can choose to get behind or not.

With the VOTU Podcast and projects within VOTU studios I hope we can build a community that respectfully communicates their views and grows closer from recognising the humans behind the keyboards, and once we establish that we can all realise or common goal and make that the fucus.

We're on the air in 3 hours http://discord.gg/tPeHAYw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68313.70
ETH 3663.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66