How to Stick to Playing the Guitar for 20 Years and Still Enjoy Doing It

in #guitar6 years ago (edited)

It is mind-boggling to realize that you have stuck to something for 20 years and still enjoy doing it. It is even more of an astonishment if you take into account that this thing requires passion, devotion, patience, hard work and the fact that you should do it every day if you want to be really good at it. Like every day for 20 years.

Have I ever wanted to quit playing the guitar? Hell yes! It's happened once and never again. I was 15 years old and I got stuck at playing the classical guitar without any hint of how to go from there to something that was really interesting for me - rock and roll. This post is for all of you who have got stuck at some point of your guitar playing and are thinking of giving it up.

IMG_0081.jpg

Find Your Heroes

It is a thing of a childhood maybe that kids love to have heroes. Then, when you are a teenager you follow your idols, and when you are an adult you think that it was all rubbish and start comparing yourself to your neighbours. Bravo. Get back to your childhood ideas! We all need heroes to be inspired and to feel that there is some essence to what we do. Worship your guitar heroes, learn from them, try to crack their code and follow their footsteps.

adult-applause-audience-952437.jpg

Set Short-Term Goals

We all want to be the ultimate guitar gods, of course. At some point the idea fades away as we realize the effort one has to put in the guitar to be as good as the best players in the world. It is just overwhelming and when you look at your school or work schedule it seems like you'll never have the time to master the guitar. Well, that's why you have to set yourself short-term goals. Pick up a guitar lead or a riff that you want to be able to play. Give yourself a few weeks to nail it and put hours every day to achieve what you signed up for. Once it's done, work on something else. Perhaps a new scale and a chord progression you would like to improvise over. Repeat until you die.

Take A Day-Off Whenever You Feel Like It

Set a schedule for yourself but treat yourself with care and consideration. Don't be a despot towards your own guitar playing cause you will end up hating it. Take a day off when you feel it is getting a bit boring, don't try to force yourself to play if you really don't feel like doing it. You will get back hungry and more passionate. It always feels great to play the guitar after you've had a few good days off.

Play With Other People

Try to arrange this situation from the get-go. Find yourself a guitar teacher who is inspiring and fun to play with. When you feel a bit more confident get out there and find a band! What a great feeling it is to play with people you like or share your passion with. Music is to be played with people, the joy coming from performing is linked to interacting with people and communicating with them in the oldest language there is - the language of music.

adult-alternative-rock-artist-164693.jpg

Get Yourself a Gibson Les Paul (or Some Other Guitar You'll Love)

I would say it is not that important at the beginning of your guitar adventure, and you will probably not have the cash to do that anyway if you're still a kid. At some point though it will boost your motivation and pleasure a lot if you can really connect with your own instrument. This happens when you pick it up from dozens or hundreds that you've played before. Give her a name and treat her with love and respect.

IMG_1628.jpg

Don't Play What Other People Tell You To, Play What You Feel Like Playing

I think this is the most important point and perhaps a controversial one. I have never liked working on something that somebody told me to work on. It's because I have always had things that I was interested in and I've always wanted to focus on those. That's why when I was 15, and started playing death metal, I was playing this genre exclusively for the next 10 years. Consequently, that's why I got jobs in some of the most successful death metal bands in the world and made my dream of doing it professionally come true. In the meantime, I had come across people telling me to practise improvising, jazz, blues, pop, rock, scales, learn more theory, etc. I didn't do any of that. I was way too focused on playing the music I really wanted to play at that particular time. Listen to yourself and play things that are fun for you, avoid boring stuff that discourages you from playing the guitar. Most know-it-alls who were telling me what to practise don't even play the guitar anymore. That's the last crowd I played for:

IMG_0179.jpg

So, take it easy and keep on rocking.

Earworm

Sort:  

Nice post. I struggle with motivation from time to time, but that's good advice. I played when I was a kid and gave it up for many years due to school, work and family, but took it up again a couple of years ago. Thanks to the internet, there is now a wealth of information available free or at low cost to help with the learning process.

Glad to hear that you got back to playing the guitar, awesome! The Internet has definitely revolutionised guitar education and it's kind of open to anyone now.

Yea man! Phil 🤘

Great post, really means a lot to me, I had some problems the past 5 years with motivation to play and it comes down to reigniting the passion! I can’t wait to eventually have my gear all set up again and start setting my fretboard alight! I used to always jam along to tracks and improvise solos, have so many backing tracks and learn all of my favourite guitar riffs and solos. I actually made a video about 3 months ago of me playing technical difficulties 🤘 it’s not the best cover, but I was getting there:)

Guitar is the best habit/drug/addiction we can have, the truth is that it is hard to fit it in around ‘life’ but you gotta make it your life! I love the positive message your sending too man with this post, life in general can be looked at like this 😀

Thanks man, much appreciated! I will check out your video, I love this song. Maybe I should play it myself on steemit, too. :)

I keep having so much trouble uploading videos to steemit from my phone, it’s so annoying but maybe it will work soon... I’ll try again later tonight or tomorrow and let you know when it’s done:)

Yea man if you can play it you should! 😀🤘

This post is loaded with great tips and advise. Great to hear your personal experience too. Thanks for sharing this!

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I wish I had all of these tips as a child when I was learning how to play the piano. Nice post @earworm.

Thanks. Wow, didn't know that you can play the piano, awesome. I used to have a decent electronic piano at home for a few years and really enjoyed jamming on it.

I think if my parents had bought me a cushioned seat I would have been more inclined to practice for longer periods of time.

Congratulations @earworm! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @earworm! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56