#unboxing/little review of my new guitar - Solar A2.6C

in #guitar6 years ago

I posted a while back that I was saving up to buy a new guitar. A Solar A1.6-LTD-TBM to be exact. The guitar was sold-out at the time but even newer batches were completely sold-out so it would be impossible to get one.

I shifted my sights to it's 'baby-brother' : Solar A2.6C (The C stands for Carbon Matte).
And for this guitar I was actually lucky enough to pre-order it because this guitar too sold-out pretty fast. I cashed out some steem and PIVX (that I bought with steem at the time) that I had saved up. This basically made sure that I got this guitar completely with using crypto and most importantly... with Steemit and PIVX!

I purchased the guitar by using the website : https://www.solar-guitars.com. So directly at the source. The purchase went smoothly on the website and any communication regarding questions about the guitars were answered quickly.

Now it was only a matter of waiting for the guitar to come to the warehouse and being shipped. And that happened 2 weeks ago. I received a mail that stated that my guitar had arrived and was being prepared for shipment. It got send by UPS and they delivered it fairly quick. The only downside was their indication : before end of day , which basically means that it's being delivered whenever their round passes my house. Since I have some bad experiences with rerouting packages I just took a day off to wait for it.

And then the moment was there ... the doorbell with the delivery guy holding the box!
It was packaged in a nice sturdy box.

And inside this box was another box :

The guitar was nicely wrapped and delived undamaged.
Time to unwrap this baby!

So what specs are jumping out (in my perspective)?

To start ... it has a Mahogany body with a Carbon Matte finish. It has a nice weight to it and the shape of the body doesn't only look great, the gradation on the inlets also makes it easy to access and play the top frets of the neck.

It has a set of 2 Duncan Solar pickups based at the bridge and neck. These pickups create an AMAZING sound both clean and overdriven making it a perfect match for playing some Metal. I will do a more in-depth demo of this in the coming days.

There is also a 5 way switchblade, a nice fixed bridge and a volume and tone knob.

It has an inverted headstock with Grover 18:1 machine heads. This head looks killer on this guitar and those machine-heads from Grover feels really sturdy. It holds the guitar in-tune perfectly.

The Maple neck has a nice C-shape. Not really flat but not too thick as well. It plays really fluently and has a real nice feeling.

It has NO inlays except for the Solar logo around the 12th fret. Maybe you've read it somewhere before but I absolutely LOVE the fact that it has no inlays. It's less distracting to the eye and looks great.

The guitar is shipped with D'addario NYLX strings. I used to play with Ernie Balls (skinny top, heavy bottom) but after playing on these strings, I'm hooked! The tone and clarity from these strings are absolutely great!

It has been an absolute joy to play this guitar and it really exceeded all my expectations. I've been hooked to this guitar ever since I've played it. I have recorded a cover-video of the song Tresspass from The Haunted with it, which I will post sometime later today.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59