Devil Gundam: Scratch Building Knee [Leg Modification - Part 46]

in #gunplajagatraya6 years ago
Hi guys!

Today I will show you the steps on scratch building this thigh on with a couple of tools, some pla plates and gunpla runer. So here are updates on Project Devil Gundam!

Start with the Holes

For me its easier to start with the holes so that they will align properly when the trimmings are done. Always start with the smallest drill bit size and gradually increase the size bit by bit.

Drill slowly as you might bump the pla plates and misalign those holes which will be hard to fix later.

Adjust the Holes with File

Now for this build the size of the runer I'm using and the file just happen to be the same size. First start with one hole and test fit with the runer.

Then file the runer is in place file the other hole to make sure the holes are still align.

Also, make sure the direction of the file is perpendicular with the pla plates so the runer will go straight through the holes.

Trimming the Edges

Now that the holes are drilled and properly aligned. I can start trimming off the edges following the master copy.

Then file the edges to get rid of imperfections and make the angles sharper. This one takes practice, patience and concentration but I'm sure you'll get the hang of it in no time.

Final Check

This is the final check and then a quick test fit to decide the width of the thigh. Mind that I haven't cemented anything in place at this stage.

Also, I will cover the thigh then detail it once the width have been decided. And I have to think about how will I connect this to the thigh and the lower leg.

Cementing the runers in place

I will cement the runer in place since I have tested the knee with the thigh.

I will trim the runer later when the whole mechanism is ready to go. For now I will leave it sticking out like so.

And so this is my updates for today on this Devil Gundam x Neue Ziel Project.

Keep on building! Keep on steeming! Have a nice day!

Quick access tutorial:

  1. Fixing broken peg using gunpla runer and several tools.
  2. Fixing holes using cement and plastic scraps.
Sort:  

You just planted 0.21 tree(s)!


Thanks to @devytan

We have planted already 4466.37 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25680.38
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95