My latest build. Ruger 10/22 Clone

in #guns8 years ago (edited)

There wasn't already a guns topic, so I felt the need to remedy that immediately. Most of the stuff I post in here will be #nfa, because taxation is theft, but that's the only way to have the cool toys without being sent to a federal PMITA prison.

If you saw my intro, my first listed interest (in no particular order) was guns. This is the latest project that I just finished putting together last week. It's a Ruger 10/22 clone, because the only Ruger part is the magazine. Being the most popular semi-auto .22 rifle on the planet, literally every part of a 10/22 can be bought as an aftermarket upgrade, which is what I did here. The total for this build was right at $1800, including the $200 tax stamp for the suppressor. I'd have never un-assed that much cash all at once for any .22 off the shelf, but the beauty of building from parts is that you can buy parts as your budget permits.

I decided I wanted an integrally suppressed .22 a while ago, so I found a gun store that would start the ATF paperwork if I paid the tax stamp up front with the balance due before I took possession, so I bought this. It's a Gemtech Mist integrally suppressed barrel for the Ruger 10/22.

This particular Mist is ported just after of the chamber to bleed off gas, which slows down regular supersonic ammo to subsonic speeds to prevent the supersonic crack. It also keeps factory subsonic as quiet as possible, usually referred to as "stupid" quiet.

The barrel was literally the first piece I bought, so I still needed a stock, receiver, bolt, charging handle and spring, trigger, optic, and magazines. For the stock, I went with the Magpul Hunter X-22. I really liked the look of it, and it's very light. For the action (receiver, bolt, charging handle and spring, and trigger), I went 100% Kidd Custom. I ordered these parts all at one time, and clicking "pay now" was a little painful, but the quality is unmatched, and worth every penny.

For the optic, I poached the Primary Arms red dot from my AR. I got it used on eBay for $115, and it has held up great to the recoil of the AR, so I have no doubt it'll do just fine on a .22 for a long time. As for magazines, the Ruger factory magazines are actually some of the best you can buy, and the prices are usually reasonable. I only currently have the one BX-25 pictured, but I'll eventually have a few more, as well as a couple 10 round BX-1 magazines to keep the look clean sometimes.

I read somewhere once that every man should have at least a .22 rifle, even if he has an arsenal or no other guns at all. I have a few other guns, but as long as you aren't asking anyone in the media, I don't have an arsenal. Either way, this should be the last .22 rifle I'll ever have to buy. In the unlikely event I ever have children, with proper care, this rifle should should outlast them as well.

Lastly, I'm aware that most people don't have a clue about what is required to own suppressors. Hell, I'm pretty sure most people think they're illegal. That is not true. Suppressors (or silencers -- the terms are interchangeable) are currently legal in 41 states. You do not need a "class 3 license," to own one, because there's no such thing. Outside of some paperwork, a $200 check to the ATF on top of the purchase price of the suppressor, and a few months of waiting, the only requirement to own a suppressor is that you not be prohibited from owning a firearm. Basically, as long as you live in one of the 41 states where they are already legal, AND you can pass the NICS background check, then you can own a suppressor. If you already own suppressors and/or just wish they were easier to obtain, look up and consider supporting the Hearing Protection Act to remove suppressors from the NFA. If you have any other questions about anything NFA, or just this build in general, please feel free to ask. If I don't know for sure, I won't just make up some bullshit.

Thanks for looking. Now on the the next thing.

#nfaguns #nfaaf

Sort:  

I finally got to shoot this, and it can only be described as "stupid quiet." It is amaze.

very silence. so gun. wow.

I was introduced to Steemit by @tuck-fheman because he seems to be under the illusion that I'm interesting enough that people would care about stuff I like.

I have three choices for a response here after your predominant post bombed with .35c in earnings.

  1. Admit I was wrong ... you're not as interesting as I thought.

  2. Apologize to you ... for asking you to bring your gun show to what may be a Hillary Clinton convention.

  3. "You don't know me motherf@cker!"

=b

Ahh wtf?! It was .36 yesterday.

You're up to tree fiddy now!

10 times from where it started. I can almost smell the zero balance of my student loans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67