You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I've learned some tricky shit in my time...Here's some.

in #guns5 years ago

Great post!

It really makes you appreciate what a great shot the one that got JFK was, that's if there was just one.

I used to shoot a 6.5 Mauser with a vernier sight, it seems quite primitive compared to your gear. The drop was surprisingly accurate but everything else was basically an experienced guess. My best shot was a roo at about 350 metres which was a bit of a fluke, normally 200 metres was a stretch.

Sort:  

Yeah, at closer distances the calculations I mention aren't really required. Kentucky windage is usually suitable. It's when things stretch out a bit that they come into play. At 200m I wouldn't bother doing any calculations. I would hold slightly high. Maybe an inch and account for the wind manually in my head but not favour into it much at all unless more than 10mph.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63755.07
ETH 3328.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91