You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Level to gravity

in #guns5 years ago

Fantastic article and so true! I've seen this time and again with people who sight in just fine for 100 yards, but then struggle making their scope adjustments out to 200, 400, 600 yards and beyond. They will think they are moving their reticle 6 clicks up, but then it ends up going high right or high left. instead. Then they try going back left or right, and before you know it, they are all messed up. Then when they try to come back to 100 yard zero from the height adjustment, they are again all out of whack.

Here is my favorite scope leveling tool to use when installing the scope. It's cheap, quick, easy and seems to work very effectively. The Segway scope leveling tool.
SegwayLeveler.JPG

Image courtesy Brownells
https://www.midwayusa.com/product/100910230/straight-shot-segway-reticle-leveler-mark-iii

Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

Looks good. I've always used a plumb line to level s opens when installing to the rifle. Simple and it works well. Do you use a scope level for your rifle similar to mine?

Not yet. I've only shot out to 400 and sometimes 600 yards so far and haven't needed it. I may go that direction as I start to push out to farther. Hoping to get out to 1,000 yards soon, but still have to sight the new scope in first. It's definitely a good idea for the longer distances from what I've heard.

Yep, at hose ranges you won't need it. At 1000m it comes in handy though. I used to shoot that far without it of course, just increases the hit percentage. At $2.20/round that's a good thing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well I handload all my .338 Lapua's now, so about half that cost (and lots more fps!), but yes point well taken, especially for those buying factory ammo! The handloads I'm tuning now are right at 3500 fps with 180 gr. bullet. Oh yeah!

Yeah, reloading is the only way to go for accuracy and repeatability. I'm making some rounds this weekend actually...I'm always making some. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87