Going to the gun range for the first time in over a decade

in #gunsarefun5 years ago

You might say that I am pro-gun. I am not going to turn this into a political thing because I honestly don't care how anyone feels about it. I will say this though, I am yet to meet anyone, EVER, that has shot guns in a recreational sense that didn't enjoy it. It is fun.

45280378_2173779762889931_1879928518561759232_n(1).jpg

Our day began with an AK-47, an AR-15, A sniper rifle of sorts that I forgot the name of, a .22 long gun, a 12-gauge shotgun, and for short weapons we had a .45, a 9mm and a .22.

We got to try out lots of different things.

For me anyway, this was my first experience with both the AK and the AR-15 and here is my overall impression. The AK is definitely the more powerful of the 2 but the AR-15 is just so much easier to handle because it is so much more lightweight. I know that this weapon get's a bunch of negative press but I don't think I have ever shot a weapon that is as versatile as this gun.

45197772_553865335063734_5857444572577136640_n.jpg

In the short range area, we didn't really have that much fun for a couple of reasons: We didn't bring enough targets so we had to aim at stuff that other people left behind. If you don't know much about a 12-gauge shotgun, it kind of decimates anything that it hits so after just a few shots our targets were no more, so basically we were just shooting at nothing, which is still more fun than not shooting, but is also a waste of money.

45208161_401967397006601_4781354092955959296_n.jpg
that orange splatter was a pumpkin a few minutes before this picture was taken

I have seriously missed taking part in this fun, safe, and skill-building afternoon. It also was a great chance to bond with my family members because we are definitely "gun people."

This is the most fun I have had in a long time and I also learned a lot since it has been a decade since I last shot (foreigners can only get guns illegally in the countries I have lived in for the past decade.) I also realized that out of all the guns i have ever shot, the AR-15 is my fave.

Sort:  

Love shooting. Hate cleaning. I have to clean up my 23 and 30/30. It’s a pain, but I agree that it’s so much fun. I’m not a hunter just like shooting targets. Glad your having a good time. Should of taken some stuff from the attic cleanup with you. Hehe.

That sniper rifel name kar98k.
Hope that black shotgun may be s12 and the m15 rifel is the upgrade of m16a4.
Lol, i m too much in action hmgames nowadays.
It seems you really enjoyed the day dont you @gooddream !

stay happy and keep going#

Posted using Partiko Android

yeah, it is one of my favorite things to do

Sure thing... I till havn t touch any real gun, only in games.. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm surprised and happy to see that the comments didn't get political. Steemit can be so much more civil than the mine-stream platforms.

You know, in country that I come from(Azerbaijan) military service is compulsory for everyone unless you have a serious health issue. So I have been in military service for about 1 year, and I am quiet familiar with these guns, especially with AK-47 !

I can feeeel the vibe of this funnnn...this stuff is on my bucket list man, the only times I have shot these beauties is when Im playing far cry or CoD. Dang im going with you in the next one....no excuses

I also love shooting guns. And I support responsible gun ownership. I have shot a few different guns, nothing as fun as the ones you posted here other than a 12 gauge pump action shot gun. Shot a sub machine gun in Philippines this past winter, that was a lot of fun.

well i have never shot anything that was fully automatic. I doubt I ever will. Unless mounted, they would be absurdly inaccurate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85