Calling out the sun

in #haiku6 years ago

Hello everyone! The haiku contest from the folks at @bananafish has got me going! This little piece is not an entry for the contest, but I guess we can call it a practice run. Once again, I'll make it a haibun by adding some background to it. Hope you enjoy!

Days have been rainy around here lately, and I've been waiting for the sun to come out so I can to take a photo, since I only have my cellphone camera, which is not the best at capturing things at low-light! I wrote a little story inspired by a tree I saw, and wanted a photo of said tree to go along with the story.

But as it has been impossible for me, I'm posting this haiku in the meantime as a way to invoke the sun!


Slumbering feline
Sunbathing by the window
Soon enough, the hunt

NinfabyK.jpg
This haiku was also inspired by this lovely pic a friend took of me and my cat, Ninfa.

Sort:  

Nice haiku! What is your cat's prey of choice? Mine can't resist clean laundry. 😁

Your friend's photo captured an adorable moment with your beautiful Ninfa!

I'll share with you my ritual to call forth the sun.

  • Run down the battery on your phone.
  • Hide the phone from yourself.
  • Enjoy tearing your home apart searching for said phone as the glorious rays shine down.

This also works for summoning a rainbow or a blue jay to perch itself on your windowsill. (It's a multipurpose formula.)

Ahahaha she prefers cold toes!

Also I've always loved this photo and I'm glad I could find a place to share it with the world :D

Thanks for the ritual too, I'll keep it mind. I have a hard time hiding things from myself though, would the ritual also work if I have someone else hide my phone for me?

Multipurpose formula 😂 you're too cool my friend.. only Bris.

@amirani, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Congratulations @amirani! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @amirani! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66