Get Out There and Vote - Day 221 - Haiku

in #haiku5 years ago (edited)

20180909_102831 - Butterfly on Back Porch.jpg

Get out there and vote.
Vote like your life depends on
making your voice heard.

I'll admit that I am torn by this election like by no other before.

I am agreeing more and more with George Carlin as I get older - admitting that our vote is likely a moot point, that the winners are chosen beforehand, and that our elections are a complete and total sham.

As is our government.

As it has been, most likely, for generations.

But another part of me refuses to roll over and let it go without a fight. I CARE about what happens.

My parents were both strong advocates of voting, of making our voices known, and I have voted in a number of elections in which few people voted, meaning that if our votes really were counted, we may well have swayed results on a local level.

And, quite frankly, I care too much for my people and for my country - and for our world - not to vote.

Even though I understand fully that my vote may indeed count for nothing.

I am, quite frankly, dismayed by the rhetoric, by the fact that so may people have ceased actual political discussion in favor of juvenile namecalling, and by the clear fact that the nation of my youth no longer seems to exist in any real way.

I am dismayed that intelligent people on all sides are attacked by hoards of wannabes, who clearly have no agenda other than to be hateful and discordant, and don't even seem to be intelligent enough to be aware of that fact.

Further, I am dismayed that intelligent people, on both sides, are giving into mob rule, rather than standing up for American ideals such as free speech for ALL, and actually acting like freaking adults.

God help our nation, and the world.

And God help us all, if this is what we have devolved to, and we truly can no longer function as a cooperative society. God knows our government has ceased to do so in any meaningful way.

Far from the most powerful nation in the world, we have made ourselves into the joke of the world, except that our criminally irresponsible government may in fact be stupid enough to commit to global war that will end life as we know it - mostly because they are not smart enough - or moral enough - not to.

According to several recently published scientific studies, we have as a global people have managed to kill off roughly 70% of insects and 60% of mammals, globally, just since the 1970s.

For thinking people, who seem to be vastly outnumbered by those who choose NOT to think, these numbers are dire, and terrifying, and for myself as a lifelong conservationist, seriously depressing.

We are killing off life on our planet, ALL life, and our current administration seems to want to speed up the process, evidently unaware that this also means US.

God help us all.

This post, and all those from now until the end of 2018, I am dedicating to the work of #tarc and #yah, aka @rhondak's nonprofit dog rescue and @sircork's charity @youarehope.

Half the liquid proceeds earned from my posts will be evenly split between the two organizations, and more when I can manage it.

The photo above was taken by me this year, on my friend Lesley's birthday, using my Samsung Note 8 smartphone, depicting one of the many species that will cease to exist if we don't reign in our criminal government, and prevent them from ending life on earth.

And yes, I hold Donald J. Trump, and his clearly fraudulent "high IQ" accountable, since he and his mis-administration have done everything in their power to remove the protections that I - and countless others - have fought long and hard for to protect the environment and preserve it for generations to come.

#haiku #tribegloballove #tarc #yah #ecotrain #thewritersblock #smg #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #rabbits #animals #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #gratitude #abundance #give #family #peace #tranquility #giving #donating #philanthropy #naturalhealing #pets #cryptocurrency #coworker #workplace #culture #rulebyfear #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #warmth #cubicle #corporation #unfair #micromanage #manager #supervisor #respect #disrespect

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

The Writers Block.gif

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://tinyurl.com/y93h9wt4

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97