Haiku Saturday, Round 4, Contest and Community Building

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)

Haiku Saturday, Round 4

From the blog that brought you Friday Poets and then Dead Poem's Society, now it is time to get really precious and claim the weekend in the name of brief verse.

Yep, it's Saturday; so let's haiku.

IMG_5622.jpg

It's round four and slowly but surely #haikusaturday and #poetryweekend are growing. Yes this is a contest but primarily it is a community growing and enriching event. Depending on the size of the SBD payout, I'll reward everyone who takes part and follows the rules. So please read and follow the rules.

In brief, upvote this post yes, drop a link yes, but also reesteem and vote for at least one other person in the comments and comment.I noticed when you don't. Come on folks ... there is no I in poetry.

The Rules for Participation.

  • UPVOTE and REESTEEM this post. The more people who get involved the bigger the payout and the more I can reward the participants.
  • Put @prydefoltz in your title and one of your tags should be #haikusaturday
  • Write a haiku post and drop the link in the comments below. The haiku needs to have been posted on Saturday wherever you are. Why? Because it is Haiku Saturday, don't you know?
  • Visit at least three other haiku and comment and upvote their COMMENT here. You can also upvote their post if you got the upvote power but it is not necessary. Your votes will decide the winners.
  • Wrote a haiku for another contest or challenge today; feel free to post it here too. I'm not possessive.
  • The liquid payout from this post (SBD) will be split up among the winners (those who received the most upvotes) and the most supportive participants, those who upvoted and commented the most. Get to know each other. I may write a haiku and join in on the fun, but obviously I will not qualify to share in the SBD payout.

IMG_5616.jpg

Never written a haiku before. Start with the basic form. A three lined poem of the syllable count of 5/7/5 about nature. From there start to experiment with pivot lines and pivotal ideas. Want some help writing haiku, this may be the place to get it. In your comment indicate you would like critique and I am sure a more experienced haiku writer will help you out. I have written hundreds of them and I am happy to take a look. But please, no insistence that your haiku way is the right way. Be gentle and humble when you attempt to teach. This is English haiku after all andthere is room for variation. Senryu, hokku, and tanka is also welcome. I am no stickler for 5/7/5 but haiku should be brief and generally run less than 17 syllables in total. With tanka you get two more lines of 7 syllables each.
I will upvote and comment, to the best of my ability, on everyone who takes part having followed the rules. I should be able to get to everyone within the week. So that will be two upvotes: one for your comment and one for your post. I will do my best to make sure the upvote is over the burn-off level. Any comment or post that does not receive at least a three cent payout, receives no payout. Many of you may not know this.I really want to see the poetry community grow on steemit, not just in numbers but also in our wallets. If we are to make this happen, we have support each other. I love Japanese-inspied poetry and I am so excited to see what everyone comes up with.

Last week payouts of SBD

@liverussian 0.2
@calluna 0.2
@satored 0.2
@pedroelec 0.06

Now can you describe a scene with what it isn't and all in one breath. Oh yeah ... let's haiku:)

Sort:  

I really like the way you structure your poem at the beach.

My haiku Saturday is here:

https://steemit.com/creativity/@mineopoly/ai-makes-an-ass-of-you-haiku

pretty creative set of haikus. ( btw. AI is just software :)

very creative and cool set of haikus!

So creative and smart:)

I quite enjoyed that set of haikus...

Thanks. I'm glad you did @rlt47. I actually enjoyed writing them and still have a smile.

For Haiku Saturday: Morning Dew, Sunrise Beams

Lovely ... they set the mood just right:)

what a stunning view! As if someone was painting the sky in gold )))) And very vivid haiku!!!! Especially the voices of birds, I loved this detail )

The white foreground and the dark silhouettes all conspired well to show off the sunrise sky.

Loved the concept behind this one:)

This is sure artofwisdom!!!! How interestingly your soul is describing the full moon... A piece of art your haiku is!

Not sure that mine can be considered a Haiku ) but it surely was inspired by this awesome initiative!

https://steemit.com/haiku/@liverussian/not-much-of-a-haiku-on-not-much-of-a-saturday
2018-06-10-20-26-24.jpg

It has the soul of a haiku for sure:)

Thank you, Pryde!!!!! There is a corner for haiku in my soul)

Thanks to you scarecrow they have an excellent chance of growing!

ahahaha, yeah, a mean one would make them depressed and die )

I bet it would! Thanks for giving it a smile. :)

Hi @prydefoltz - I've decided to enter a haiku - b'coz Saturday is simply too far :)

https://steemit.com/haiku/@rlt47/an-original-haiku-nature-s-secrets

I'm still pretty new at Haikus - so I'd appreciate your open critique...

Hey! Whoa! I do a haiku contest, too!

Is it too late to post a haiku for yours? I missed this on Saturday but @liverussian just pointed me to your direction.

Go ahead ... we will still take it:)

Hey, @vdux fancy meeting you here! The same angel showed me the way... :0

Hi @prydefoltz, I'm always looking for a great haiku hang out, so I followed the trail left by @liverussian.

She is stellar and welcome. I look forward to reading some of your 'ku:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94