Rebirth of a Noble Light, Haiku and A Neon Market Friday w/ @dswigle

in #haiku5 years ago (edited)

Rebirth of a Noble Light

the smiling buddha
claimed by war and decay
reborn in a noble light

IMG_6955.jpg

IMG_6963.jpg

On the last Thursday of each month, the Museum of Vancouver (MOV) stays open late and hosts a pay what you can. A higlight for me was the Neon Vancouver collection.

The smiling Buddha Cabaret (sign above) still operates on E Hastings. Incidently Smiling Buddha was also the code name for India's first atomic bomb. #thingsyoulearnbyaccident.


My peacenix self says down with nuclear winter; up with noble gases. Be careful even still. Neon, argon, helium, xenon, and krypton give off a bright light when excited with an electric current. Radon is radioactive and a little too excited already.


IMG_6962.jpg

Mountains and ocean and even our foodie culture is more likely to come to mind when thinking of Vancouver, but the city has had a long on-and-off love affair with neon. Thus why so many of them were found in the trash heap and then put on display at MOV.

IMG_6960.jpg

Whether you love neon or think it dated, it adds color and a sense that something is going on, even if all it is some irridescent reflections in a pot hole's puddle. On those rainy and deserted Vancouver nights, when I rushing home for warmth, I am thankful for the glow of these noble lights.

All photos are my own. A big shout out to @dswigle for hosting #marketfriday.

Sort:  

Oh, don't hate me, but, I love the bright light of the neon, probably from being guided by the beacon on so many nights working in New York City.

They are not terribly big here in Washington, DC, I hear they outlawed their gaseous selves. At any rate, the Museum of Vancouver deserves a round of applause for saving these noble signs.

They never go out of vogue! Love this one on the bottom, racing off who doesn't love a smiling Buddha? As always, thank you so much for taking the time to photograph and put together a post for the challenge!

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed (I'll steem in the am for more traffic?

!tip

Why would I hate you? I love the neon but am willing to share. It adds so much fun to the view but maybe not suitable to DC or outside one's bedroom window.Thanks so much for popping in and hosting this fun blog stream. Yay #marketfriday:):):)

🎁 Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Does The Needful Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Such cool shots I love neon myself and hope there will still be the odd neon sign around

Happy Market Friday

Some of them are ture works of art:)

Ohh yes I totally agree they are a firm of art well some of them not all of course

Love the idea # marketfriday. Totally going to jump into that one

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s one of the most popular challenges in here I think 🤔

Are you going to join in? Please do.

Of yes for sure some of them truly are art in their own right

I've always enjoyed neon lights. Some are SO creative, and all are kind of a fascinating technology. I remember when younger, having a neon beer sign in your room in college was a THING. You were SO cool if you had one. I never did, but was sure I was still cool. The jury is still out on that one ( :
Is this a permanent thing, or just a once-only display of neon, at this museum? I have SO many things to see up there, one of these days. So much to see in your fascinating city, so far away. But one day. Have a nice weekend, and hope your weather has improved. I've heard it's all been rain up north. To keep those puddles full for neon viewing. Cheers

No rain here. Been pretty dry and sunny. Today was positively balmy. The signs have been there since at least 2012 and so yes, I think it is a permanent exhibit.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Brilliant, loved it, love the Haiku :))

Thanks, Ray:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87