Persistence of Fall

in #haiku6 years ago

Laughing Ghoul stencil.jpg

Geese stand in the road
One’s neck outstretches the others’
This one stares at me.

Listening to rainfall
I remember and then hear
My heartbeats that night

Trees whip the air, then
The thunder rises from air to ground
Windows and floor shake

Waiting for my leg,
Kitten readies its haunches.
Paws my shoe and hides.

Trees in the twilight.
Black on the crimson sunset.
Fall breeze rising.

Waking at 3 a.m.
I hear the car through the wall
Accelerating.

I tell the cat ‘no’
It watches my stare, not blinking.
Sweeping broken glass.

Autumn thunderstorm
Rainfall fills the yard’s puddles
Into one large pond.

Walking behind them
I would like to pass ahead.
Fall grocery shopping.

The years behind me
An old path grown with weeds
Years ahead of me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77