Happy Halloween: pumpkin carving à la modesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #halloween5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Happy Halloween: pumpkin carving à la mode


In March 2020, many Steem users, including @dhimmel, migrated to the Hive blockchain in response to the hostile takeover of Steem. Please use the Hive link when sharing this post and comment on the Hive version to get in touch.


Since Halloween occurred exactly one week ago from today, I thought I'd bring you the aftermath of our pumpkin carving endeavors.

@trang and I both carved pumpkins, as did her two friends Omar and Daphnie. Here is the final product, replete with demonic aura:

IMG_20181104_202600-demonic-glows.jpg

Can anyone guess who carved which design?

Here's another arrangement, this time viewed from the Philadelphia Streets:

IMG_20181104_214008-porch-display.jpg

This is what the inside of a carved pumpkin looks like, after having scooped out the guts:

IMG_20181107_073445-pumpkin-inside.jpg

The guts contain seeds. We separated and roasted the seeds:

IMG_20181107_075015-roasted-seeds.jpg

Now I have breakfast!

Sort:  

For those who want a closeup of the Steem Pumpkin, here it is:

IMG_20181104_201539-steem-pumpkin.jpg

Also if you want to see the pumpkins on display before being carved, check out Cello to sooth the souls of specimens: a Steemian special performance.

The Steemit pumpkin is so cool! But I would say yours is the "math is life" one :))

Nope that's @trang's. I made the Steemkin.

Now is that cool or what? A halloween Steem pumpkin, You have both done a fantastic, artistic work there, @dhimmel and @trang. 🎃

Awesome idea carving a steem pumpkin, guys? Who came up with it, @trang or @dhimmel?

We were at the Clark Park farmer's market and saw an Amish pumpkin dealer. I only had $7.00 but the pumpkin I had my eye on was $8.00 (the largest size available). The man was nice enough to settle for $7.

He knew your curving talent will show up, if he settles for 7$. A very kind Amish!

Nitecore NU25

Curious about how we illuminated the pumpkins from within? One rear bike light, one crap headlight, and two holy headlamps.

I cannot recommend the Nitecore NU25, i.e. holy headlamp, more highly. It is ridiculously light. However, you got to replace the bulky strap it comes with with ultralight shockcord with reflective tracer, like that from Litesmith. Then it'll weight in at ~1.2 ounces. Things that make this the best headlamp on the market:

  • rechargeable (sadly micro-USB not USB-C). Can operate while charging!
  • lockable: press both buttons to activate locked state to avoid unwanted activation.
  • lots of modes, good battery life. Yellow + red lights.
  • not too expensive (under $40 USD).

Here's the NU25 on Amazon. Personally, I have the yellow color.

@intrepidphotos, you might consider investing in this headlamp for your adventures... although perhaps you already have a robust lighting system related to your photography?

😂😂😂

I still need to get batteries for my bike lights.

My friend and colleague Ricardo Josué Romero-Moreno has sent news of his pumpkins this year. I am excited to convey the picture he sent me:

ricardos-pumpkins.jpg

Happy Halloween!:))
To be honest I dont care about this holiday too much, but I really love pumpkin soup :DDD

Yes, pumpkin soup and pie are good.

There are many things not to like about Halloween. First, it encourages consumption of disgusting candies that rot one's teeth and predispose children to metabolic catastrophe. Second, it creates lots of littered candy wrappers. Third, it commissions the production of large amounts of plastic crap, that takes energy to produce and in the BEST CASE ends up in a landfill where it will sit for the next thousand years.

So yes, I AGREE, Halloween is really quite a horrid holiday.

But Halloween parties are so much fun!!! (especially when one get to go grocery shopping in aikido gis)
image.png

Notice that I am only a white belt, going up against a blue belt, but my form is impeccable, despite the impending blow to the noggin!

So which one of you two had "the honour" to go grocery shopping in aikido gis?

Both of us actually! We didn't have our belt on, so everyone thought we were black belts.

Yes, I can only agree with you! I couldn't have said it better myself..
We all should care about mother nature more and dont waste unnecessarily;)

You could make business curving private label halloween pumpkins.

Steem pumpkin! Amazing 😄😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58557.01
ETH 2992.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74