Halloween 2018, Day 7 - Let Me In...The Choice of Evil

in #halloween6 years ago (edited)

Before I get into my Day 7 Halloween post, a couple of minor points to address, not worthy of a blog post of their own.

  • My computer crashed again, so I think I will be getting a new one. Posting overall will be spotty until I get this resolved.
  • I'm holding off informationwar posting at the minute...hopefully I'll start back heavy a couple of weeks before the election
  • Don't forget the Monthly Halloween Contest, with 20 shares of SBI as the prize, ensuring a daily payout on at least one post of yours on a daily basis! Right now there is one entry, let's get some competition going !

Today's Blog: The Movie Let Me In, and the Choice of Evil

Let Me In is a 2010 vampire movie, a remake of a 2008 Swedish film, Let the Right One In. I'm not going to be comparing the two, because I am talking about what I consider to be the main point of the movie...
The choice between good and evil

I'll make my own points, then I'll bring in some discussion from the web. This post is a spoiler all the way down, Abandon Hope, All Ye that have not seen this excellent movie

The film opens with Ronald Reagan, President at the time of the movie, talking about the difference between Good and Evil. That should be a huge clue right there.

The romance between Owen and Abby, the 12 year old lead characters, is a backdrop for the choice. The romance itself is fairly 12 year old in nature, so nothing to complain about there.

Owen is a bullied child, with divorced parents, living with his alcoholic mother, and spending his free time by himself on a jungle gym that is covered with snow, and singing commercial jingles for candy.

Choosing Evil is EASY when you are bullied,alienated, and lonely


It's not like Owen isn't predisposed to making a choice to defend himself at all costs. Abby, who slowly becomes his friend (although a good digressive argument would be as to whether she seduces him to replace her current companion, who has already aged past her and is tired and sloppy), tells him he MUST fight back.

Abby: [touching Owen's bandaged cheek] What happened there?
Owen: Just some kids from school. Where do you go to school anyway? I've never seen you...
[interrupted]
Abby: [interrupting Owen] Owen, listen.
Owen: What?
Abby: You have to hit back. You have to hit back hard.
Owen: I can't. There's three of them.
Abby: Then you have to hit back even harder. Hit them harder than you dare and then they will stop.
Owen: What if they hit me back?
Abby: You have a knife.
Owen: Yeah, and what if that doesn't stop them?
Abby: Then I'll help you.

A little bit of foreshadowing there.


Abbie's "dad" is getting sloppy. A picture revealed later in the movie shows him as a gawky 12 year old using the photo booth with the still 12 year old Abby...sometimes in the 50s.

Once "dad" gets himself caught (sacrificing himself for Abby in doing so), Abby reveals her nature to Owen fully.

Her feeding rampage will soon draw the attention of police. In the meantime, Owen looks to advice from his father. He knows Abby is evil, and yet he is in love with her.


Owen's worthless Dad will not teach Owen about Evil...or Good

OWEN:...Do you think...? Is there...?Is there such a thing... As evil?
MAN’S VOICE (PHONE FILTER):...What...?
OWEN: ...Can... people be evil? Is that true? Is that real...?
[SILENCE... Then]
MAN’S VOICE (PHONE FILTER):What are you talking about, pal...?I don’t know what you’re talking about...
(long beat)
Did... something happen...?
[Owen doesn’t know what to say... His father grows anxious]
MAN’S VOICE (PHONE FILTER): Where are you getting this...?From your mother...? All her...religious crap...?
OWEN:No...
MAN’S VOICE (PHONE FILTER):Jesus Christ -- don’t listen to that shit, okay...?
OWEN(heart sinking):No -- that’s not --
[But his father isn’t listening]
Script

This lack of stomach for choosing to teach his son about Good and Evil will come into play; for failing to acknowledge that Evil even EXISTS, is the bane of a well pampered class of people that have abandoned their children to the harshness of reality.


After Owen shuts the door on a cop's plea for help, as Abby feeds on the cop, his choice has been made.

Choosing Evil can have it's benefits. The bullying that Owen suffers turns into a life and death situation, to which Abby responds.


The choice has been made, and Evil saves Owen.

Owen leaves town with Abby...his desire to leave town was stated earlier in the movie.

Conclusion

John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of the novel Let the Right One In, and writer of the Swedish screenplay, spoke of his happiness with Let Me In:

I might just be the luckiest writer alive. To have not only one, but two excellent versions of my debut novel done for the screen feels unreal. Let the Right One In is a great Swedish movie. Let Me In is a great American movie. There are notable similarities and the spirit of Tomas Alfredson is present. But Let Me In puts the emotional pressure in different places and stands firmly on its own legs. Like the Swedish movie it made me cry, but not at the same points. Let Me In is a dark and violent love story, a beautiful piece of cinema and a respectful rendering of my novel for which I am grateful. Again
HitFix.com

I have not seen Let the Right One In yet; I started to, yet I got bored with the pacing. One day I will wait for it. I think the pacing for the American version started out quickly due to the opening scene.

Another reason I like this movie is it's time and place. As a child of the 80s (I was 14 at the time of this movie's setting), the music seemed like home to me.

The filmmakers have noted that "they intend to forge a unique identity for Let Me In, placing it firmly in an American context"
Wiki

So even moving past what I consider to be the central them of The Choice, I would reccomend this movies as a great vampire flick!!

And I have to say that one of the greatest framing shots I have ever seen was the first pic shared


Follow my curation trail, More Info



My Books


Join our @informationwar Curation Trail

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation and other false narratives. We currently have over 9,000 Steem Power and 40+ people following the curation trail to support our mission
  • Join our discord and chat with 250+ fellow Informationwar Activists
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here
  • My INDEX of informationwar writing

Sort:  

Hi @stevescoins!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.554 which ranks you at #531 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 529).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 302 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 21 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 187 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11