The Origin of the Hamsa & My First Menē Necklace

in #hamsa6 years ago

I'm a bit of a history buff.

I love learning and reading about ancient history and the origins & evolutions of human anthropology. Between books and podcasts, I've amassed my fair share of knowledge in most interesting topic for me: ancient civilizations of the Persian, Babylonian, and Assyrian Empires.

One thing I decided to learn more about recently is the Origin of the Hamsa.

()

The Hamsa and "Evil Eye" is something I grew up having around me all the time. Whether they were gifts of jewellery from a visiting relative or hanging at the front door of my home, it became for me simply the symbol of superstitious protection against the jealousy and spitefulness of others.

When I decided to buy my first piece of Menē 24 Karat investment jewelry™, the Hamsa necklace was immediately what I wanted! Then I obviously fell into a dark hole of the internet learning all about the origins of this symbol of protection. There are so many explanations (I'll spare you a lengthy post) from different cultures (particularly Greek Christianity, Judaism and Muslims), but the core idea remains the same.

The hamsa hand is thought to pull the forces of good from the universe in order to protect those who wear it. Those that choose to wear the hamsa receive the positive energy of the universe so they may be protected from harm, unseen dangers, and disease.

This year for Valentine's Day, if you're thinking of gifting a bracelet or necklace to a loved one, the hamsa comes with deep history and beautiful symbolism to add to your thoughtfulness!

Here is my first Menē jewellery piece!

Image uploaded from iOS (52).jpg

Image uploaded from iOS (53).jpg

Check out the Menē collection and use my referral link if you're ready to make a great investment ;)

https://Mene.com/invite/ktzXdk

Sort:  

This is wonderful @par-ee :) It is so interesting to learn your perspective on the Hamsa, particularly because of your personal connection with the symbol. Excellent selection as your first piece of Menē jewelry. I was actually wondering what the symbol meant and now thanks to your research, now I know! I eagerly look forward to your next post :)

Thanks! I actually love it, I'm so happy I got it!

I'm not familiar with hamsa symbols. Can I create symbols myself or have to buy it as a pendant?

you can buy different pendants available at mene.com! The hamsa is just one of them :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71