Learning to Carve

in #handmade6 years ago

36053112_10214557330680255_65196714495049728_n.jpg

I'm a beginner when it comes to carving. I've been sculpting since about 1998. I sculpt with polymer clay, making pendants, dolls, and tiny figurines. I primarily sculpt dragons.

I did try sculpting with clay that had to be kiln-baked back in 1993. I don't know if the sculpture I created was ever actually baked. It was in art class. I had zero control of the kiln and I'm lucky I was even allowed to sculpt as that art class seemed to dole out allowable projects based primarily on gender. Female working with an airbrush? Unheard of. Weaving? Sure, but there was only one loom. Jewelry-making with wax molds? Good luck. I spent most of my time in that class working on drawing with charcoal. But I did sculpt one thing.

Technically, I sculpted a huge dragon with play-dough when I was young. It sat on top of my mom's cabinet for years. Further back than that, I made little hats with floral toppers out of mud.

35884178_10214538085879147_949545534601822208_n.jpg

I have been eating a fair number of avocados of late in an attempt to take in healthier foods. I threw away several pits before realizing I could carve them. Sculpting is very different from carving. When I sculpt, it's an act of building up and carving is the opposite, an art of taking away. It's a new way to think.

This is the first avocado seed I peeled. It's rather pathetic. TINY. My attempt to sculpt it fresh didn't go well.

35881830_10214538605172129_7145936028392488960_n.jpg Meet my rather ugly flower.

35893167_10214538604212105_5529155341398310912_n.jpg I am definitely not ready to tackle dragons yet. This doesn't even look like a dragon.

These were created a few days ago. I knew the avocado pits would shrink, but these shriveled beyond recognition.

After an order from Safeway delivery that went awry , with super squishy avocados not fit to eat, I have these three pits to work with now. I've already tackled one today. They were taken out on Friday and it's now Sunday. In Colorado, this might be long enough to wait in order to successfully sculpt.

36034247_10214548147850690_874967984467083264_n.jpg

Aren't they lovely? I know I'm not ready to take on making a dragon yet. It will happen. I have found it difficult to locate videos or articles about the best way to treat an avocado seed after and during drying. That will come along as I work on learning this new thing.

I already make jewelry. I wanted to make unique pendants and recycle from nature at the same time.

36177507_10214557691609278_2598788937333866496_n.jpg

I am not displeased with the results so far. Fingers crossed that they dry well. I will get linseed oil and some sandpaper to work on them. I might even have sandpaper here somewhere.

I'm sure I drive my other half crazy because it's always some new thing and I obsess about said new thing until I conquer it. Do you do that too?

Sort:  

HI @shelahdowart, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord or view it life on Rambling Radio.

this is a great idea, id never even considered they could be carved!
Looking forward to seeing them sanded and fingers crossed theres minimal shrinkage!
I might have a go at making one myself and maybe wrapping it after into some jewellery


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Definitely a cool idea. In Namibia I have seen the locals carving images onto Makalani Palm Nuts. I found that very neat and maybe that would also work with avocado seeds.

Do you just use a regular exacto knife, or do you have special tools?

Wow that's definitely news to me! It looks lovely when carved.

We only have Christmas Palm Trees here and I have like 17 seeds just sitting around waiting to be bought. Haha.

It isn't good for carving though (I opened one up) but elder/provincial people munch on it as substitute for Betel nut.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah you go girl! I tried my luck with it but I find that I need more practice or drive to be able to sculpt using it. It is the best material to carve however I need to learn a lot before it will probably get better.

I am still at the observation stage. The first one I did actually got some molds... Haven't scraped them off yet but I think there has to be a way to do it better and make it where it doesn't become moldy. 🤔🤔🤔

What I did instead was write about what else this often wasted avocado part can be used for and I found about 10 uses at least. Haha. Pretty amazing stuff.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @shelahdowart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73