AIA#91 Novelty Seeking and Happiness

in #happiness5 years ago

Hello everyone,

I cleaned my apartment yesterday on my day. I gotta admit I had let things slide. After yoga, I did the dishes, cleaned the floor and did the laundry. I felt very satisfied afterwards like I had completed some kind of mission.

Of course cleaning my apartment isn't really a mission. It's just one of those daily and weekly things we have to do. Sometimes I enjoy cleaning sometimes I don't.

IMG_.jpg

I was listening to a pod cast and heard something interesting.

One person talked about novelty seeking and how people seek new experiences like they seek a new car. They explained that seeking new experiences like traveling to a new place or trying a new religion wouldn't make them happy. They would constantly seek new experiences and never be fulfilled.

I really thought about this message for a few moments.

I enjoy shopping for clothes because I like to look good and I feel better when my clothes fit and they look good on me. At times, I go overboard on the shopping and looking for new clothes. So I have some work to do in this area. I try to ask myself if I really need the item and if I can do with out it or I avoid clothing stores all together.

"How do we enjoy ourselves without overdoing it?"

Sort:  

Congratulations @acewall73! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 60 posts. Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

It's just one of those daily and weekly things we have to do.

Chopping the wood and carrying the water. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61750.97
ETH 2886.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63