60 Day Happiness Challenge - Day 1

in #happiness6 years ago

IMG_8116.JPG

If you haven't read my intro to this challenge post, check it out here.

Day 1 is in the books and it isn't pretty.

To recap, my goals were:

  1. To walk/run outside for an hour before work
  2. Go out to lunch with a friend once a week
  3. Continue payments on my CC
  4. Continue listening to audiobooks
  5. Spend a minimum of 15 minutes unplugged with hubby every day
  6. Spend an hour a day learning code
  7. Eat 5 servings of fruit/veg a day
  8. Blog

Wins

  1. I did walk outside before work which was lovely, however, it was interrupted by a phone call from my friend going through the divorce. His wife called the cops on him. So this wasn't as relaxing as it could have been.

  2. I finished my "Outliers" audiobook.

  3. I did spend 15 minutes unplugged with hubby. It wasn't life-shattering, but it was nice.

  4. I posted on Steemit, but didn't work on my wordpress blog at all.

Failures

  1. I'll be honest - I completely forget this was even a goal.

  2. I ate 3 out of 5 servings of fruit or veg.

Everything else is didn't apply (I make payments on my CC on payday, and I have all week to go out to lunch with a friend).

How do I feel? I'll be honest - yesterday was rough. My friend came over for a shoulder to cry on and for advice. While I'm happy to be there for a friend in need, and I know he would do the same for me, it was emotionally exhausting. I also spent all day painting my office, so I was physically exhausted as well. The baby also didn't play outside so he was bouncing off the walls way after his bedtime - and then tossed and turned and wanted to play while we were laying down reading his book. I feel like an MMA wrestler.

But I'm keeping at it. I knew the change wouldn't be immediate, and I've got 59 more days to feel a difference. Lessons learned!

Sort:  

It's not always easy to keep the promises we make to ourselves. Good job on your wins. We can't expect to be happy without doing some sort of work on ourselves. I believe making small, incremental changes is the way to go. The more we do that and the more wins we have, the easier it gets. It just takes a little perseverance. It's kind of like working out it seems.

Exactly! You’ve hit the nail on the head. Sometimes happiness takes work, but it doesn’t have to be like moving a mountain. We can do it a spoonful at a time. It’s hard because my husband’s default mode is happy and content - so I feel broken somehow. Like “What’s wrong with me if he makes it look so easy to be happy all the time.” But not everyone’s built the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69715.93
ETH 3772.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77