So Little Did I Know There Is a Tag for "Happiness"

in #happiness6 years ago (edited)

It just so happens I have written a book on the Subject. Yes I am trying to sell it on Kendall however I haven't sold very many copies. I think I have given away more then I sold lol. It would be nice if it took off and became a million seller hint hint...LOL. However my main goal was to help others. Anything on top of that is just gravy.

I thought I would post a few excerpts from the book now and then. By the way the name of the book is called: The Books of Life Volume 1: How To Become Happy If you have kindle unlimited it's free. You can read part of it for free on line at amazon.

AlmostGotMyFeelingsHurt.jpg

Here is the first excerpt from Chapter one:
Happiness: What is it?

The meaning of happiness may be expressed various ways because it is open to subjective ideas. While many may agree with the definition I will use, others may not. At least, I hope to plant a seed in your mind that will cause you to contemplate the meaning of “happiness” for yourself. Listen to your inner voice and let it guide you. Okay…let’s begin with a definition from Wikipedia:

“Happiness is a mental or emotional state of well-being characterized by positive or pleasant emotions ranging from contentment to intense joy.”

To my surprise Wikipedia gave a pretty good definition: a sense of well-being causing a feeling that ranges from contentment to intense joy. That definition fairly well sums it up for me, although I might add peace to the mix as in “peace and contentment” despite your circumstances. However what does this really mean?

For many of us, our sense of “well-being” may be dependent upon the circumstances of our relationships, finances, education, and other areas in our lives. For the sake of example, we can use the circumstances of the relationship we have with a spouse. In this case, our sense of “well-being” and feeling of contentment, peace, or joy, is found in that relationship. Is this “happiness”? Yes it is…in a sense.

However, this happiness is tied to a source that does not come from within us, but comes from outside of us. So in this case, when these things in our lives fade away or fall apart, we can be thrust into despair and fall into depression. This happened to me when my marriage fell apart. In other words, my well-being, or sense of happiness, was dependent upon the condition of the relationship I had with my former wife.

This is why it is important to find the wellspring of happiness which lies deep within you. Doing so allows your well-being to become independent of “outside” influences. Once you do this, life’s storms may be raging around, but you will be able to maintain your sense of well being, feeling of peace and contentment, and even gratitude. To reach this level of well-being in our lives may seem impossible to many. However, the very purpose of this book is to show that it is possible, regardless of circumstances, relationships, finances, and more.

A most important key is to develop the attributes of a positive and thankful attitude in all things and for all things. Once developed, this becomes part of your core belief. Thus, it strengthens your “sense of well-being and feeling of contentment”. You accomplish this by first planting the seeds of “a positive and thankful attitude”. Then, you must “cultivate them” that they may grow to maturity and produce good fruit. To cultivate means: to “do the work” necessary for proper care of the seed. In other words, you must water, fertilize, weed and protect it.“A sense of well-being and feeling of peace and contentment” is the sweet fruit from “the garden of the mind” that comes from planting and cultivating the seeds of “a positive and thankful attitude”. Partaking of this fruit will literally pull you from the depths of hell, so to speak, in spite of your circumstances. The best way to understand this is to experience it. In the following pages you will discover how to do that…

Let me know what you think or if you have a question or see a chapter you'd like me to post on excerpt out of let me know. Thanks for reading.

Here is the contents list:
Contents
Acknowledgments
Forward
Preface
CHAPTERS

  1. Happiness: What is it?
  2. Becoming Happy
  3. Is Happiness Really A Decision?
  4. Getting Started!
  5. Exercise, Diet, and Nutrition
  6. The Garden of the Mind
  7. How to Believe
  8. The Sealed Envelopes
  9. Quickening the Learning Curve
  10. Fear
  11. Selfishness
  12. Do you know if you believe it…it will happen?
  13. A Story
  14. Decisions, Decisions, Decisions
  15. Avoiding the Problem
  16. “Seeing the Good in All Things”
  17. I Don’t Care…
  18. Make Your Own Decisions and Don’t Give Up
  19. Turn Off the TV
  20. Silent Time Exercises
  21. Judging Others
  22. Letting Go of the Past
  23. Stop Drinking Poison
  24. Let Others Be Who They Are
  25. Attitude of Gratitude
  26. Thinking Outside the Box
  27. The Rewards
  28. Happiness Comes From Within
  29. Negative Influences
  30. Now Go Live and Enjoy Life!
    Addendum - Becoming Happy and Creating a Greater Society
    List of Quotes
Sort:  

Congratulations @blaynesukut! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for sharing with steemit. I think it's well written and on point. Good luck getting it out there.

Thanks for the kind words it means a lot coming from you. I'm not a writer but felt impressed to write this book. I resisted because I am not a writer and felt like there were plenty of self help motivational books already out there by far better writers then me. I couldn't shake the impression so I just did it. It took me a year and gave me a new found respect for authors and all the hard work they put into a good book worth reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69113.16
ETH 3747.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67