Happy Almost One Month on Steemit and I Got a New Follower!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #happy6 years ago

Exciting news, Steemians. With the one-month anniversary of my registration drawing near, I wish to congratulate myself.

1month.png

And there can be no greater celebration than announcing that I have gained a new follower! The account’s name is @ ghadir. I know nothing about this person, but my excitement at gaining a new follower makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. The following kernels are based upon my researches and cogitations.

What We Know

Available knowledge is limited to the vitals of this account. First, the name: Ghadir means “pond” in Arabic. The pond of Khumm in Saudi Arabia was the place where the prophet is said to have given a major speech to his followers, thus a sacred site in some Islamic traditions with a holiday to mark the occasion. There are other ponds and low places known as Ghadir this, Ghadir that, or even Ghadeer this or that, stretching all the way from Yemen to Iran, but not including the Indian Ocean.

However, there is a bay and beach in Malta called Fond Ghadir, which has some old baths and appears to be a pleasant place in which to repose. So it remains highly conceivable that the owner of this Steem address wished to invoke the aura of that particular location with his or her decision to name the account accordingly.

Second, @ ghadir has not posted a comment yet, as of the time of this writing. Third, @ ghadir has a reputation score of 17, which is lower than the 25 with which this account started as of March 2018. Fourth, I therefore draw a conclusion that the score is due to downvoting. And fifth, Ghadir has posted only re-posted videos from elsewhere on the internet, which does not often provide great value to one’s blog. Not crediting one’s sources may amount to plagiarism and may be cause for a downvote.

Ghadir.png
(I just answered that, you silly goose. Read above.)

Speculation: More Male Than Female

While gender affiliation is unclear, my strong guess here would be that Ghadir is a man (if not a pond). The simple reason for this is simple: sadly, in parts of the Middle East and Islamic portions of South Asia, many women tend to be uneducated, sometimes illiterate, and not expected to participate in affairs of business or technology. ‘Tis a shame, in my mind, since the ladies would be most welcome on Steemit. Perhaps our pond friend is female, though my guess is that it’s a dude.

Further Speculation: Language Issues

Since Ghadir has reposted videos rather than writing, it is likely that there is a language barrier. Here’s hoping he/she tries some original posting in his/her mother tongue, be that Arabic, Farsi, or another of the world’s patois. Steemit is not only for mad dogs and Englishmen.

With a language barrier, I fear that opportunities to chat with my new follower may be limited. Nevertheless, welcome to my follow list, Ghadir!

Al-Ghadir_DamCC Iranian engineer.jpg
(This picture shows Al-Ghadir Dam in Iran/Wikipedia.com/CC/Iranian engineer)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73