So They Tell Me There's a Hardfork Coming...

in #hardfork206 years ago

"Hardfork 20," they call it.

The technologically inclined seem to be quite excited about it, for the most part.

"It'll prepare us for the future," they say, and then they are quick to point out that regular "muggles" like me probably won't notice a whole lot being different.

"But there'll be a lot of really great back-end improvements," they insist.

313Newsunset140827a.JPG
Here, have a pretty sunset...

Some of my "in-betweenie" friends — you know, the ones who are both content creators and developers at the same time — tell me not to worry. The infrastructure improvements are what matter; it'll all help pave the way for SMTs.

So I try not to worry.

One of these days it would be nice, though, if something "they" did actually was done for the benefit of those of us who are the end users.

But what IS Going to Happen?

Supposedly we will soon be able to edit old posts. I guess that's kinda cool, if you have some pesky typos from three months ago that are really bugging you.

The new account creation thing sounds good, at least on paper. I know the very slow process of getting a new account approved through Steemit, Inc. might have been a stumbling block to further growth here. After all, most people involved in the modern "social web" expect instant gratification and NOT having to wait three days before their new social media account is approved.

332NewBeach.JPG
Life's a beach, they tell me...

Being the cynic that I am, I do have reservations about people using this new change to create 100's of accounts to launch swarms of spam upon us. I don't trust most people, especially when there is a chance to make money involved.

Everybody always seems so very ready to "milk the system." Whatever system that may be...

I suppose we can but hope that those intending to create legitimate accounts outnumber those who simply intend to defraud the system.

Time will tell.

What Am I Hoping For?

Peace and quiet, mostly.

That I can wake up, log in to see what is happening, and Steemit is actually working. That's one thing I am hoping for.

I am hoping to not have to listen to a bunch of people going on and on about how they are going to rage quit as a result of the latest changes. Don't really care for the drah-mah.

219Boat140210a.jpg
Smooth sailing, I hope...

I am hoping that the value of Steem might eventually rise again. Recently, the markets have actually shown very slight signs of life.

Does that have anything to do with this hardfork? Probably not... although with all these new apps, and the capacity for accounts to be created without the slowdown of "centralized" account approval... maybe there will be a difference. Who knows?

In the meantime, I hope everyone has a forking good time!

Yes, this post was pretty much entirely silly and irrelevant... but I still invite your comments and other feedback! Just sort of putting this "out there," as usual fearing that I might not have access for several days, as they rush in to plug unexpected holes.

xSteemitBloggers.jpg

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180925 00:14 PDT

Post created using SteemPeak.com

Sort:  

I just tone out the noise and hear...

-We are releasing a major patch = good :)
-We are positioning for SMT = outstanding :)
-We have committed to dates to do this stuff = Nice, now keep your promise or you'll have to duck some massive mud pies.

I hope they provide updates and tell us how we can help! there is a strong community here, not all of us want to hinder, some of us actually want to help and see Steem and Steemit succeed.

Peace and quiet, mostly.

Amen to that brotha. I just want to continue where we left off minus the plummeting of the price of Steem ;)

Hey, @denmarkguy.

Well, it's T-minus 18 minutes and counting and I'm here plugging away. Not sure what to expect. Yesterday's steemitblog update helped and didn't help, depending on which way you want to look at it. I guess at this point I've expressed concerns (mostly in comments) and I've asked my questions and there appears to be little to do other than let it happen.

So, here's to letting it happen. Bring it on.

By the way. How are you liking steempeak? I see you credited it for this post. I've been using it and have my own thoughts but I'm interested to know what you think.

Congratulations Glen, you have been selected to get the last comment I will make before everything gets forked!

It often feels like we are all living in a house that could use some major remodeling, and the landlord makes a huge fanfare out of every time he sweeps the front steps or paints a windowsill. My single biggest takeaway from a couple of years here is that while "decentralization" may be a marvelous and game changing ideology, this kind of "working by consensus" might possibly be THE single slowest way to progress a project through the business cycle.

But yeah, bring it on!

I like SteemPeak for a couple of reasons. The primary one is the ability to keep and save drafts and templates. Because I tend to have"lots of random thoughts" rather than a linear string, the ability to jot something down, save it for later, and then return to it is a huge plus. Along with that, the fact that I can upload photos to posts at home and then finish the post at work with the pictures in place... that's also great. I also like the built in metrics and control panel.

It has its shortcomings, but overall it's much easier to work with than the primary interface... OR busy.org or something like it.

Well, T-minus 2 minutes! Hold on to your hats!

fakketextFork2.jpg

cuddle_hug3.png

This is not an irrilevant post, believe me. Everyone of us is waiting to know wht will happen after the hardfork. Sure, there are some info abuut it, but remember tha past hardforks I know that we could see "something strange" ^_^ I'm not worry, just curious. Like you, I'm a bit cynic and so I have some reservation about the new account creation and the use that people could do with it, but I want to be optimistic ;)

I do have reservations about people using this new change to create 100's of accounts to launch swarms of spam upon us.

Me too @denmarkguy.

Don't really care for the drah-mah.

Me neither

Does that have anything to do with this hardfork? Probably not

I didn't get all this excitement about the Steem price going up and people linking it to the Hard Fork. Does anyone outside of Steem know or care about the hard fork?

And, if you are inside Stem wouldn't you be more likely to hold off buying so late in the day in case, given last weeks hiccup, things go awry?

Having said that, the Steem price is rising again despite the drop back. Maybe people are panicking that it will shoot up after the Fork. I am now but then I panic whether it goes up or down which is why I so rarely buy. 😂

I've already posted today so, if it all goes pear shaped later, I will at least have down that.

See you on the other side. 😁

I don't think this post was entirely silly, or irrelevant. I, for one, would be happy to be spared spam and a gazillion people joining to make a quick buck. Yes, we're all here to make a buck (we hope), but some improvements to the platform, like editing old posts and, voting on historical ones, under circumstances (don't ask me what, right now) would really be useful and helpful.

Being the cynic that I am, I do have reservations about people using this new change to create 100's of accounts to launch swarms of spam upon us. I don't trust most people, especially when there is a chance to make money involved.

I have the same but I think that it requires a fair bit of RCs (whatever they are) to get them 'free' which means that not everyone is going to have access to hundreds of them. But, who knows :D

Yes, this post was pretty much entirely silly and irrelevant..

I guess you didn't read all the way to Silly and Irrelevant Post After HF20 change in the white paper, they'll now automatically qualify for two flags. (lol)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73