The many JOYS with COMPUTER HARDWARE

in #hardware6 years ago (edited)

bild2.jpg

What is it like to build your very own computer? Is it stressful? Indeed. There are so many things to consider, but it all comes down to what you really want to do with it and what is needed for your very own purposes.

Once you've build your own computer or just bought an assembled one from somewhere, does it end there? ... Simple answer is: Nah! It could, but let's see what it's like to be able to change and upgrade everything you want. Just look at your big box of metal and wires and imagine...

I could've just stopped with my very first computer that I build back in 2015. It had everything I need: A decent Core i5, a GTX960, 8 Gigs of RAM and some high speed SSD storage.

IMG_13352.png

(Trust me, the only reason this looks so good is a red color filter. :o )

It all started with me, complaining about something. The noise. First victim was the cheap case, that I replaced with a more silent premium case that had a rad neon-green look to it. There was another case before that with gunmetal color (beautiful), but it didn't last for long.

And then, A GODSENT. I got my hands on a very nice titanium-style motherboard with A LOT of new features and options with it. This thing started it all and ultimately set the tone for the build I wanted. All titanium/black, no more rainbow colors (Looking at you, ATX plug! >:( ) and a huge side panel window that I can see through.

IMG_20161020_064557.png

So... the future upgrades were tied to the theme from now on. Good thing to have goals, right?

The GPU was the easiest choice as I wanted an upgrade anyway and msi, the manufacturer of the motherboard, had a sweet GTX1070 with the same color theme. Nice. (Bought it a month before the mining-hype began. :lucky: )

As for the cooling solution, heck, I wanted to overclock the shit out of my CPU and I went with a nice minimalistic looking AiO from bequiet. Not that I recommend it here, but it is working properly "for now".
An AiO will reveal the beauty of your motherboard as well.

The CoolerMaster MasterCase was the only case that offered a vertical GPU mount at the time. Its modularity is a good selling-point, too, although I'm sitting on some switched out leftover parts right now, that I don't want to throw away. :'/

And that's where I could've stopped. (Sleeved cables! <3 )

Favourite.png

Now to the fun. The Sky is the limit! I figured that the overall scene was way too dark. And there is some titanium missing in this case !!! All black background. That's not cool, man!

I could've spray painted the case silver and potentially runining it forever, but I stumbled upon a way nicer solution: vinyl. Carbon-silver to be exact. I bought some and after measuring and figuring out how to cut it to size, I put it all over the inside of the MasterCase. Stunning!

(I made a small mistake where the vinyl ruffled up a little, but I was able to hide it behind the msi emblem, which looks even nicer!)

And here you can see the current state of my own machine. Looking exactly as I wanted it to be. (At least for now.)

TitanBuild

To be continued... But not any time soon! ;P

Are you a PC enthusiast, too? Looking for more than raw performance?
Just think about it. What could your computer look like in just around three years?

Share your own stories in the comments, if you like. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for the post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67