You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2017: The year of the CPU

in #hardware6 years ago

Is socket 754 Episode 2? ;)

I have always loved AMD processors starting with an Athlon as my second desktop PC. I think I always liked the underdog nature of them, but never knew the ins and outs as you've just explained them. Personally I think this kind of competition is absolutely necessary in any marketplace, but especially in computing. That's not to say partnerships ruin that either, I think there's a lot to be said for pushing forward together instead of apart.

The main thing though is that I think over the last ten years consumers have been - by and large - satiated in their demand for ever more powerful processors. I wonder how much the rise of Crypto and mainstream mining etc have lead to an increased demand for cutting edge kit?

Either way I'm even more excited to see what's next after reading this article :) Thanks for sharing, I really enjoyed it!

Sort:  

Competition is necessary, but it must be kept in check to stop the larger corporation from abusing their power. That is what Intel have always done. If that regulation is lax, then competition will vanish.

Mining has disrupted the graphics card market, but hasn't had any impact on the CPU market.

I thought I might have the return of the Jedi thing figured out, I thought you were referring to each ‘episode’ of AMDs evolution :)

Competition is definitely a necessity, that’s Why we have monopoly laws, although I’m not sure they aren’t being breached the world over already!

That's not it. You'll notice I used it for an Intel thing too :) It's quite obscure, actually, when I think about it.

Damn! I think I'm definitely stumped in that case!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71