You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Road Kill Moose : I broke my van too, this is a very busy year.

in #harvest6 years ago

We have a cold room (and a butchershop), and could hang road kill deer. We let it be known we'd take a not too badly damaged one, but so far, none....

That was quite the job, getting the moose cut up so quickly. We'll be doing a steer this year, probably in November.

Sort:  

Yeah I hear in the states the road kill deer gets destroyed. 💔😢 Such waste.
I hear land owners can take like six deer though. But white tails are so small, and have a lot of fat.
I also hear they are a major pest.
Your lucky you have a room to do it all in. We have the great outdoors, lol!
Yeah I think the reason it went so quickly is the way I butcher. I cut with the meat and sinew, between the natural sections of meat.
9B8F97BF-7E8E-42C9-861C-4B77A2B567E9.jpeg

The very few deer we've had have not had a lot of fat.

When my husband does the cutting, he cuts the standard things: steaks, roasts, hams, chops, brisket that we eat and the rest goes to stew beef and hamburger/ground pork. We have a Biro meat saw, so that makes it a LOT easier. He did them with a meat saw the first year, but his arthritic shoulders would not take doing it again.

We can do a pig in one day cut and packaged. But a cow takes 2 days for us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59504.00
ETH 2984.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74