Big Moana Kali Fishing the City of Refuge - Honaunau Big Island of Hawaii

in #hawaii5 years ago

IMG_20190309_101507.jpg

I was fishing the City of Refuge on the rocks which I showed in the last picture.

I was whipping with an orange curly tail lure.

I dove this spot and the water is 15 feet deep about 10 feet from the ledge and gets deeper.

I was doing a fast retrieve and then nothing.

Then I slowed it down and still nothing.

I then decided to start jigging so I whipped it out and let it drop then cranked fast 4 times then let it drop and repeated this. On my second cast about half way in I got a big hit. The fish stayed deep and was fighting hard. I was not sure what it was. I kept my pole high and tried to get the fish to tire out. When It got closer to the ledge the white water made it hard to see anything. Then I saw my lead come out of the water but the leader was still in the white water. The fish felt heavy so I knew it was a good size. I walked to the edge and hand lined the leader up then I saw the head of the Moana Kali break out of the white water. This was one of the biggest I have every caught on a Pole.

It was a lucky day. I will write a post of how we cook it as the Moana Kali is a great eating fish.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95