The Island of Kauai is now 50% by Renewable Energy

in #hawaii5 years ago

a.png

AES Corp. has completed a 28-megawatt solar farm on the south shore on Kauai that stores excess power created during the day into a battery system. This system will eliminate the need for about 3.7 million gallons of diesel annually and supply about 11 percent of Kauai’s electricity, making the island more than 50 percent powered by renewables. The battery bank can deliver power for as long as five hours, to a maximum of 100 megawatt-hours. This is a momentous day in Hawaii as this shows the way forward as Kauai is the rainiest and cloudiest of the islands, and thus they show what the other islands can do.

Sort:  

That's a nice photo. I like the look of solar panels maybe it is just because I like looking at myself in the mirror and it reminds me of a mirror. Or maybe because it's better than the snoke stack or a lumbering windmill. AES is doing a really good job on that island. I have heard a company Eguana is working on inverters for solar in Hawaii. I wonder if they are friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94