Take the Pledge to Preserve and Protect Hawai'i.

in #hawaii6 years ago

IMG_0341.jpg

I love Hawai’i. It's a place where I feel free.

My son and I learned to surf with Titus Kinimaka's school in Hanalei Bay on Kaua'i.

I had my honeymoon on Hawai'i.

I became entranced by the Kilauea volcano. (This was when the eruptions were minor in from 2008 - 2016. Now the road I drove on surrounded by lava fields created by previous eruptions is gone!)

I learned it was ok to be a "Haole".

I learned to respect the coral reefs.

I met many aunties and uncles.

I climbed Diamondhead.

I stayed in a cottage on the ocean at the Pacific Missile Range at Barking Sands on Kaua'i, AND for the first time saw the Milky Way as clearly as you are reading this now. (It's a remote military installation. We are a retired military family with some spectacular perks.)

I stood waist deep in a cove outside my rented cottage in Kaneohe Bay on Oahu surrounded by sea turtles while the rain came down and a double rainbow appeared over my head.

I snorkeled with sea turtles the size of large dining tables in Poipu. . (They followed me, I did NOT follow them because that is illegal and upsets nature's balance.)

I ate the most delicious macadamia nuts I've ever experienced.

AND butter mochi...

...and avocados the size of my head (for ONE dollar!).

I visited the most spectacular farmer's market I have ever experienced in Hilo on The Big Island. There was quite a bit of produce I had NEVER seen before. I did my best to at least TRY most of it. (One in particular smelled like dirty feet, Yes, that is known as Durian, and it's an acquired taste, to say the least.)

The list goes on and on and on.

I will do what it takes to help keep Hawai'i's integrity.

If you have been to Hawaii I'm SURE you know exactly what I mean.

If you have not been to Hawaii, my hope is some day that you see it.

Regardless, no-one whether they have visited the islands or traveled there from their living room can ignore its splendor. There is NO PLACE like it.

I have taken the PONO PLEDGE to keep its culture, environment, ocean, land, residents and wildlife intact, safe and thriving.

Take this beautiful, heartfelt pledge with me!

  • I pledge to be pono (righteous) on the island of Hawai‘i.

  • I will mindfully seek wonder,
    but not wander where I do not belong.

  • I will not defy death for breathtaking photos,
    or venture beyond safety.

  • I will mālama (care for) land and sea,
    and admire wildlife only from afar.

  • Molten lava will mesmerize me,
    but I will not disrupt its flow.

  • I will not take what is not mine,
    leaving lava rocks and sand as originally found.

  • I will heed ocean conditions,
    never turning my back to the Pacific.

  • When rain falls ma uka (inland), I will remain high above ground, out of rivers and streams.

  • I will embrace the island’s aloha spirit,
    as it embraces me.

  • Lawe i ka maʻalea i kūʻonoʻono.
    “Take Wisdom and Make it Deep.”

Click below to officially join millions of individuals who believe Hawai'i is worth preserving.

https://www.ponopledge.com/

https://www.kazakers.com

As always thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69386.82
ETH 3714.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85