A Call to Team Australia - Spring is getting closer - but not everything is green.

in #hayrunners6 years ago (edited)

I went on another road trip for work today, back up to the country town of Moora. There has been a lot of rain in recent weeks, and the paddocks are full of life and colour... and water. The canola is starting to flower, covering the green fields with a blanket of golden yellow. It was a beautiful sight.

20180816_183444.jpg

Some areas are turning into deserts


While we're overflowing with rainfall in the west, I do feel for the farmers over east, who have been enduring severe drought for a number of years now, and things a looking dire in some parts.

I've been thinking how I can help, and while every little bit helps, I feel that we as #teamaustralia, or even the whole #steem community, and especially #thealliance could get together and make a huge difference by showing some support to the farmers who are really struggling.

This is what the New South Wales drought map.
looks like.
Screenshot_20180816-210358_Chrome.jpg
20180816_210322.jpg
Source of map and pie chart

Let's Do something positive

I would therefore like to put out a call to all #teamaustralia members to put our heads together and start a fundraising drive to sponsor a truck of hay with the Burrumbuttock Hay Runners on their next run, wherever it goes. To do this we need to raise at least $2000, which is about 2000 Steem.


Source

To put my money where my mouth is, so to speak, I'm going to be putting up 2 2018 Steem Silver Rounds up for raffle in two seperate draws to raise funds, and any post I make, starting with this one, using the #hayrunners tag will see the liquid post rewards sent towards the fundraising effort.
Here they are...

20180816_211147.jpg

So what do you say #teamaustralia? How about we put our community spirit into overdrive, and get a truck sponsorship up and running. Why even stop at 1 truck... aim high and let's show Steem, Australia and the world what the power of community and crypto can do!

This will be a #teamaustralia initiative, and I am asking for help and guidance from those who have more knowledge amd experience than me, to work together to achieve a big, but not unrealistic target of $2000. We CAN do this!! Hit me up on Discord, and let's get things going.





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

The farmers need to get TopUp Balls to protect their reservoirs from evaporation.
https://steemit.com/steemhunt/@hamismsf/topup-ball-topup-ball-modular-water-cover-against-evaporation

That's a genius invention for sure, but the reservoirs will eventually dry up if there's no rain, and in some parts that's the reality right now.

Yeah, the problem is getting the farmers to buy them when they HAVE water to protect it when the next drought comes. TopUp Balls reduce evaporation enough to prevent reservoirs drying up even in drought conditions. In drought its not that there is NO rain, its that the amount that falls just goes straight into the soil and doesn't run to reservoirs.

The problem with water is that if you only focus on saving it once you're short, its too late.

I can't argue with you there. Hopefully some will think about this when the rain does come back and fill the dams, but right now they need as much help as they can get in many areas.

Holy crap, 99.9% affected in some manner. Can only imagine. Good call to action! See this @jackmiller?

Yeah man, I've been watching this for a while, and the last few weeks it's been heavy on my heart to do something, but I cannot do much on my own, hopefully it will start the ball rolling from the awesome community we have right here.

PS. Forgot to mention, "no raffle tickets necessary for me/us. "

Wow mate! Thanks for that gesture. I'll make sure it goes to the right place. Thank you!

No need to yell!

;)

This is an awesome initiave that I'm 100% behind. I call on ALL of Team Australia to join forces here with Mr BMJ and get behind this venture.

Thanks mate, I appreciate your support on this!

Team Australia, I call on everyone to support this, its a great pre-existing charity and something that would be very worthy. Especially if we can sponsor an entire truck and get a bit of media coverage.

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @ecoinstant

We have planted already 3316.15 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19506.03
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

So , I made some donation to this one ( below) , I hope it's legit ..is it ?

https://www.buyabale.com.au/

Yip, they've been running for about 5 years now and do a lot of good. They're a registered charity as well, so all above board as far as I can see.

That is amazing, the drought you have now. When @jacmiller spoke of your post and this situation in PYPT earlier today, I loaded a rainfall map that shows lots of rain going around Australia now. Good luck with your fundraising and weathering the dry conditions!

Thanks @thekittygirl. We are getting rain, but it looks like it's not falling where it's needed right now. Hopefully the weather turns for them soon.

I’m supporting this! Will try to do some fundraising posts. Have you thought of raising some funds via a @fundition post?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Terrible with the drought. One would think with all the technology and knowledge of science we have in the world, this mess could be fixed.

I had no idea this was happening until @jackmiller pimped your post in PYPT. Thanks for bringing this to our attention and I wish you the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61619.35
ETH 3001.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64