My Journey from Vegetarian to Vegan: Discovering inherent Healing Power

in #healing6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170811_152728.jpgIt has been almost 20 years that I had been a vegetarian. At that time, when I was around 18 years old, actually it was my father who inspired me towards this step. One of his friends was vegetarian and my father tried it out, too.

So when I thought about it, it made really sense to me. I didn't want animals to be killed just that I can eat meat. So I tried it out being vegetarian and stuck with it.

Looking back I don't think it was very difficult. One thing was, I didn't really miss the taste of meat. And usually, whenever you go into a restaurant, there are at least a couple of vegetarian options. The only thing you have to accept is that the vegetarian portions are overpriced and much smaller compared to a meat dish and many times, the vegetables are either overcooked or uninteresting.
Maybe that's also because it takes much more skill, effort and nuance in order to prepare an interesting and tasty vegetarian dish.

Over the years and especially during the last years my appetite for milk, milk products and egg decreased more and more. When I drank milk, it didn't taste so good anymore, so I reduced it more and more.

Then, three months ago, there happened to be a vegan exhibition in my town so I went there.

Although some people say, vegans are militant or aggressive, actually the thought and reasoning behind veganism is very compassionate, which touched me very much. I don't want to go into detail here, but there are many different motivations and reasons why people become vegans and, surprisingly for me, there are many benefits, as well.

I can only speak from my own experience. After a few days of cutting out milk products and eggs from my diet, some kind of shift and changes in myself already happened, can you imagine?

This came really unexpected. My body felt a bit lighter, I felt better.
My brain fog decreased and my mind became clearer. Energy levels improved.
And I feel more connected with myself, my heart, my true nature, goodness.
This is just my own experience but I can imagine others had similar experiences, too.

How is this possible? Because from an “official“ standpoint, milk is supposed to be very healthy for you and the EU for example spends many millions of Euro in order to propagate the consumption of milk. I ask myself, why?

Nowadays there are many alternatives to milk which are much healthier in my opinion, which don't make you fat, which are definitely free of antibiotics and difficult to digest hormones destined for the baby cows.

Obviously, there are many, many people who can't consume and digest milk well and have an intolerance towards lactose.

So to say the least, I think it is important to do your own research about what is really healthy for you and what is not.

Actually I believe that there is a lot of healing power and wisdom hidden in ourselves which need to be recognized and freed.

We need to let go of stereotype patterns and opinions in order to connect to our inherent, natural healing power.

In this spirit, may you be well, many greetings from Taipei, and have a wonderful new year!

Sebastian

Sort:  

The post is very nice @redgaruda, it looks very beautiful flowers. I have also experienced vegetarian, but after I forced myself to change, now my vegetarian is gone bit by bit. Keep trying. Thank you

Thank you for your kind words! This photo is from a park in Taipei, we have many lotus flowers here.
Wish you all the best, be well!

Same same, thanks also for you. Really, it's a beautiful city you live if you have lots of flowers. Success continues for you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76