This woman was told she would die by age 30

in #health6 years ago

0.png

This woman was told she would die by age 30 if she didn't lose weight: 'I wanted to do something with my life'

This woman was told she would die by age 30 if she didn't lose weight: 'I wanted to do something with my life'
Yahoo Lifestyle Andie Mitchell,Yahoo Lifestyle 18 hours ago
Reactions Reblog on Tumblr Share Tweet Email
Weight-Loss Win is an original Yahoo series that shares the inspiring stories of people who have shed pounds healthfully.

Kenzi Groft is 21 years old, 5 feet 6 inches tall, and currently weighs 145 pounds. In 2015, after a series of health problems caused by her weight, her doctors told her she had to pursue a healthier lifestyle if she wanted to live.

02.jpg

After I dropped out of college because of my horrible self-esteem and a few recurring health issues, I went to the doctor. While I was there, they told me I was going to have to have my gallbladder removed and that I had kidney stones, two ovarian cysts, and was at a very high risk for blood clots because of my weight and the fact that I had started smoking cigarettes in college to combat my stress and depression. They basically told me that if I didn’t do something about my lifestyle that I would be dead by age 30. I didn’t want this. I wanted to be more. I wanted to do something with my life, not just get fat and die before I could really even live. I had to do something before it was too late.

03.jpg

One thing I still struggle with today is my self-esteem and some health issues that stem from when I was still large. I did it to myself so I cannot complain much, but some of the scars I have from the surgeries I have had really do a number on me. I got skin removal surgery on my belly to get rid of some of the excess, but I still have a significant amount on my arms, in between my thighs, and on my butt, and my breasts are not where I would like them to be. I try to remember where I came from and why I have these scars, and the memories and battles that came along with them, to try and not let them get me down. They are a part of who I am, my journey, and I hope that one day I can learn to love them and all of my flaws.

04.jpg

My best advice is to never give up. If you fall off track, please pick yourself back up! You can do it. I never thought I could, but here I am now, having lost half my body weight. If you feel like you can’t do it one day, then don’t do it, but the next day pick yourself back up and push harder than ever.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aminkhan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70190.79
ETH 3740.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69