30 Day Challenge - Touching my toes

in #health6 years ago (edited)

This is my first 30 day challenge on Steemit, I plan to complete a few more and post the results with the hope that some of you will follow along with me (and keep me honest!).

Now I'm sure you'll be wondering why I would even bother doing this. Why does it really matter being able to touch your toes?

20171210_161617.jpg
Me currently trying to touch my toes (this is after warming up). The struggle is real.

I'm 6ft 2, so I consider myself to be tall, I have consistently had back problems throughout my life (especially in the lower back). Now I'm training to be an electrician and find myself always crouching over or squeezing through tight roof spaces. While doing this my knees legs and back are so tight and I can't stay in a position for a long time and in general just makes everything a bit harder. Even while training for my marathon my knees went due to my tight hip flexors causing an uneven running stride.

The ability to touch your toes means you have good flexibility through your hamstrings, glutes and hips flexors (which all link through to muscles in your lower back). If any of the aforementioned muscles are tight they can pull down on your back, causing strain (especially when you place yourself in position that stretches them). This strain is what gives you a sore back which is a massive problem for many people.


Source

My plan:

Every morning for 30 days conduct a stretching routine. That's it. I will try update you how it is all going through the process.

The routine I will be doing is from Here all credit to www.self.com. This routine is mostly yoga. Please visit the website to view the stretches properly.

  1. Seated straddle.
  2. Cat/Cow.
  3. Kneeling hamstring stretch.
  4. Toe reach with band.
  5. Lying hamstring stretch.
  6. Pigeon pose.
  7. Figure four stretch.
  8. Magic trick.

Before you attempt to stretch make sure you warm up! No point in stretching a frozen rubber band! A good warm up would be 20 - 30 burpees starting slow.

You will need a light resistance band to do some of these stretches like the one below. Should be able to pick one up for < $5USD.
Untitled.jpg

Good luck!

Sort:  

Congratulations @apprentice! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71