My Marathon Training Plan

in #health6 years ago

Hi all!


source

This is the training plan I used relating to my post - Anyone can run a marathon

It will all be in KMs because, well, metric is best.

Pre Training (yes there is training for the training)

Plan is 12 weeks, and R stands for rest (however stretching out will definitely reduce soreness) Its not about running the whole way or even how fast you do it, just get the distance done. If you miss a day do it the next day and don't stress about it!

A good stretching routine can be found here

My actual marathon plan is taken from Hal Higgon (a famous running coach) his plan is in miles so I will convert it to kms for you.

Original plan

Untitled.png

Don't be scared by those Saturday numbers! Those long runs are the important ones so don't worry about missing the shorter ones during the week but make sure you do the long ones (once again just worry about completing the distance).

In total this plan gives you 30 weeks (6 months) before your marathon.

Remember to practice a carb load on your 21km (half marathon). Lots of easy to follow articles on this but I used the following one:

https://www.runnersworld.com/nutrition/the-right-way-to-carbo-load-before-a-race

Good luck!

Sort:  

Great, thanks!

So if I get it correctly, the first 12 weeks you do 3 trainings a week and the longest (if I read it correctly) is 7km on Wednesdays. Then you move to the second part of 4 trainings a week but you're training 3 days in a row on Tue, Wed, Mid and then a big one on Sat?

Yeap, the 3 days in a row is to get you use to running on sore legs, generally they equal a similar distance to your long run on Saturday. The first 12 weeks is just to ensure you will be able to effectively start the 18 week program.

That does sound doable.
I just had a look at my training pattern in my Garmin stats and it seems that if I made the switch soon, I could be doing my first marathon before the summer, I'm already doing the distances over a weekly basis. What do you recon:

You can definitely skip the pre training mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71192.75
ETH 3667.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75