The Tolerance of Pain

in #health6 years ago

I was listening to an interview just the other day which really hit home with its message (link below). It was mainly talked about pains, discomforts in our body and how overtime instead of looking for ways to heal ourselves and bring ourselves back to harmony we instead learn to live with those pains and discomforts eventually accepting that as a part of who we are. Doesn’t that sound familiar?

I will take myself as an example. In the past I was very strict with myself and whenever some pain would manifest in the body I would go to the extremes to find the cause of this pain until I could see the solution. It was also a very cool process, like a detective work tracing back all the events that could have played a role in creating the pain or discomfort and usually arriving at the aha moment which in itself was the solution because when I truly saw and understood the cause I would make sure it is removed and thus healing can take place. With time, however, I see that my tolerance level has been increasing and slowly but surely I began to “shrug some things under the carpet” convincing myself that it’s ok, that it’s normal to have some pains with the advancement of age.

In essence what is happening is that I am slowly accepting self-limitation, I am accepting the pain and the suffering of self and I simply become content with the limitation and at the same time I can see that this acceptance ripples even further, here taking the bigger picture into consideration, the world picture, again, I begin to accept things the way they are, I am no longer truly participating in my reality, I am ignoring the injustices and no longer look for solutions. So if more people are doing the same thing, isn’t this the reason why we have such a messy existence?

Since this point opened up I am questioning my position as a homeopath and weather I am able to assist anyone before I truly assist myself first? I have been repeating this quite a lot when speaking to other homeopaths saying that the most important case that we have to take before anything else is our own case. Almost none agreed with me, mainly arguing that it’s impossible to be objective investigating self. Sure, in a way I agree, self-honesty is very difficult. In this case the usual practice within homeopathic circles is to go to other homeopaths to have your case taken. It’s cool if you are able to find a good practitioner, one who has really worked with self, but that seems to be rare. In the end what happens is that many remain with some unsolved issues, some pains and some discomforts and we tolerate them.

So I can see for myself that it takes a decision to start looking at stuff that’s limiting me, a decision to get a bit angry with myself for allowing stuff to accumulate and no longer accept the pain and the discomfort but to look at it all, understand it and find solutions. In this I found it’s also very important to ask for help, to utilize the best existing means, the therapies that are available and basically give the best care for self that is possible.

Speaking of the best care available:
DIP Lite - free online course to learn essential life skills
DIP Pro - advanced self-hacking skills

The interview referred to in the blog:
What Matters in Matter

Sort:  

I relate a lot to what you share here. Man oh man.

Going to have to link you...reference this post and make a post of my own.

That's what my injuries have been showing me - much compensation and suppression

fascinating how much can open up in exploring an injury....like it's our inner jury...as how we've been existing internally within ourselves

Steem On Brother

That of pain really if it has a lot of idiosyncrasies

Good info in there !! There is a lot in there , Many people in this boat ,,

Congratulations @arvydasplatakis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66