Recipe Review: OneGreenPlanet's "Lentil 'Meat' Balls"

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Last night seemed to be the night for a nice Italian dinner...

I came across this OneGreenPlanet Recipe for "Lentil 'Meat' Balls" that were vegan-friendly. So I decided to give it a shot! My husband picked up some sauce on the way home and pasta, so all I needed to do was make these scrumptious looking delicacies.


OneGreenPlanet Recipe Source

Mine didn't look as perfect because I did not fry them as the recipe called for. I didn't use any oil or the "2 tablespoons chickpea flour plus 2 tablespoons water." I also used just a little bit of yellow onion (because that's what I had, only like 1/4 cup worth, maybe a bit less), and I had some panko breadcrumbs left that I used.I kept the mixture a bit moist and only needed about 1-1/4 cup of breadcrumbs. I also had Worcestershire sauce and used that option. I might try the soy sauce and vinegar next time because I don't have enough of the other left. Here were my lentil balls out of the oven:

This recipe made WAY too much for two people. I had a whole tray full as you can see, plus I ended up taking the rest and making a loaf out of it with some sauce on top and baked it. I roughly counted and if I made them all into the balls it would have made around 32! So next time I will only be making HALF of this recipe. Thankfully, I do not have to cook for the next couple of days! The other problem is, I did not bake them long enough and they started to fall apart in my sauce...but still great and I will certainly make these again!

Since this had some green veggies and other veggies in it, we just had this, and not other sides. I suppose I would have steamed some broccoli next time. Perhaps for dinner, tonight...leftovers with steamed broccoli! YUM! I love broccoli...


Source

I hope you enjoyed this post! Let me know if you've tried something similar or try this recipe!

Note: The images unsourced were taken from my I-Phone.

Be well and have a blessed and wonderful weekend!!



Gif Credit

Sort:  

Delicious post, I like cooking you a professional cooking food, thank you for the post

wow!!!

THAT LOOK "DELICIOUS" :)

This looks great :) Thanks for another recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78